Blocks On the Go for Quilts That Grow Finish!

 

Hello Everyone! I have finished the Blocks on the Go for Quilts that Grow Quilt Along from last year. This is also my 3rd finish for the quarter for the 2017 Finish-A-Long. You can find my list here.

P1030404.1

I started working on this with my quilting friends, Lydia and Joyce. We meet once a month in a local hotel lobby to catch up and get some sewing done. It was also my go to project when traveling. When I started this, I had never done any English Paper Piecing (EPP) before, so I did some research and got started. I have to say, I love this quilt.

The quilt has 52 EPP blocks from the New Hexagon book by Katja Marek. The block pieces are enlarged to 133% and I bought the paper pieces from Paperpieces.com. The batting was placed between the background piece (white fabric) and the block, then the blocks were appliqued to the background piece which became the backing, too.

P1030407.2

Each block took 5 – 6 hours to EPP and applique. When it came time to put them all together, I decided I wasn’t up for more hand piecing. I also wanted to free motion quilt it. I ended up butting the pieces together and used the feather stitch on my machine to sew the blocks together.

IMG_4658.1

Except for the background, all the fabrics are from various Bonnie and Camille lines for Moda. The background is a Moda Basic. I used Aurifil 50 wt thread to piece, applique and quilt.

P1030412.1

I quilted free form free motion quilting motifs using my domestic Pfaff 4.0 Quilt Expression. There are feather flowers, feathers, swirls, some paisley, pebbles, and a little McTavishing. I had a lot of fun quilting this.

P1030413.3

 

The back really shows off the quilting.

P1030398.1

The quilt is the perfect picnic quilt. If I hadn’t spent so many hours on it, I would enjoy taking it to the park, sitting on it while listening to a concert. But instead, I will enjoy it in my home for now. These pictures were taken on a small dock at Lake Acworth.

IMG_4674.1

Here’s one last picture. If you are interested in seeing the individual blocks, on the sidebar under the Categories, you can click on Blocks on the Go for Quilts that Grow, and find all my previous blog posts on this quilt.

Thanks for stopping by!

signiture

This entry was posted in 2017 Finish-A-Long, Blocks on the Go, for Quilts that Grow, FMQ, The New Hexagon, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blocks On the Go for Quilts That Grow Finish!

  1. Lydia S says:

    You did a great job on this, and am pleased that you like the outcome.

    Like

  2. Amazing! The quilting is incredible and I love that you kept the angles of the blocks along the edges. Thank you for participating in the FAL, on behalf of the 2017 global FAL hosts.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Q4 2017 Finish-A-Long List and Q3 Wrap-up | The Quilting Nook

Leave a Reply

