A Little This and That

Hello Everyone! I just wanted to share a quick update on my projects, but first, I have a special project to show you.

-janet

Janet sent me this picture of her coffee themed placemats made from my Christmas Placemats Tutorial. They look great Janet, and thanks for sending me the picture. I hope you get a lot of use out of them. I never did make my summer placemats and I’m still using the Christmas ones. Now I should make some for fall!

I also started a new quilt-a-long (sort of ) on Instagram. It’s the #100hexies100days2017. I thought this would be a great time to use my Grandmother’s fabrics that I’ve had since she passed away many years ago.

IMG_4581

She had pieces of all kinds of fabrics; cottons, denim, twill, and even some double knits. More on all of that later. I do have a project in mind for the hexies, but I’ll get my 100 hexies made before I make my final decision on how I’m going to use them. Each week has had a theme and last week was rainbows:

IMG_4693

I found solids in all the rainbow colors in Grandma’s fabrics. Since they were solids, I decided to do a little embroidery in each of them. The bigger hexies are 1″ and the small ones are 3/4″. I will probably be adding more embroidered hexies along the way. This week’s theme is animals, but there aren’t any fabrics with those, so I’ll be back to picking out what I like.

I also finished Week 24 and 25 of the Moda Blockheads BOW.

IMG_4635

For Block 24, I used my Half Square Triangle ruler to make these 1″ finished half square triangles. I think I get more accurate squares when I use it.

IMG_4706

Week 25 was a fun block and I can see using this block in a larger quilt. I plan to set these blocks on point and I’ve begun to think about how I want to set them and what fabrics to use. If you have any ideas, I’d be happy to hear.

I’ve also finished my Mini Pumpkin quilt for the Minis and More Parade. I’ll have that for you on Friday, September 1.

My prayers are with all of those who have been affected by Harvey and will be in the near and distant future.  It will be a long road to recovery for them.

Thanks for stopping by.

signiture

 

 

This entry was posted in embroidery, English Paper Piecing, Moda Blockhead BOW, Placemats, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Little This and That

  1. Lydia S says:

    You have been busy-busy. Love your grandmother’s fabrics.

    Like

Leave a Reply

