June Minis and More and Last FAL for 2017 Q2

Hello Everyone and Happy 4th of July Weekend! The project for our Minis and More Parade for June was anything summer which is appropriate going into this weekend.  This is also my last finish for the 2017 Finish-A-Long and you can find my list here.

I actually made three things this month that qualify for the minis, but the original one I started with is a kit I received for a Christmas present by Sherri Falls of This and That.

IMG_4095

The pattern is A Season of Minis – Summer and the kit came with all these darling fabrics mostly from Little Ruby by Bonnie and Camille for Moda.

IMG_4307

My finished size is 14″ x 14″, slightly larger than the pattern because even though it fits nicely on my stand, I turned it into a pillow.

IMG_4308

IMG_4314

And it goes nicely with my other spring and summer pillows! I can also pick it up and take it camping with us. I couldn’t really do that with just a flat piece, we don’t have walls  and not much flat space in our pop up camper.

One of the other summery things I made this month are my Picnic Placemats.

IMG_4242

I made these for charity through a guild service project. You can read more about them and find my tutorial on making them here.

The last summery thing for the month is Block 16 for the Moda Blockheads BOW. Week 16’s block is by Jan Patek. Jan’s block was two applique flags. I didn’t think it would really fit into my quilt, so I made the alternate block provided by Lisa Bongean. I did make a version on Jan’s block though.

IMG_4322

It’s an embroidered version using leftover scraps. You can see in the picture below that I just used what I had and trimmed after sewing. Much faster for a small project than cutting to size.

IMG_4274

IMG_4275

I started with these wavy lines made with a disappearing marker, then used my walking foot to quilt. I had a bunch of starts and stops, but it is a mug rug, so they just got cut off. I quilted in the ditch in the HST.

IMG_4273

This is the alternate block and I finally found a block that I could use the red print in. Now it’s onto Week 17.

I hope you enjoyed my summery sewing. I actually had “something fun” on my list of things to do for June! That means something just for me. Even though all three were made for a purpose, they all qualify as fun!

The Minis and More Parade is hosted by Michele and Sherri and will be posted on July 3. I hope you remember to stop by to see what everyone else has made. Thanks for stopping by.

signiture

 

This entry was posted in 2017 Finish-A-Long, Charity Sewing, embroidery, FMQ, minis, Minis and More, Moda Blockhead BOW, Placemats, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to June Minis and More and Last FAL for 2017 Q2

  1. Lydia says:

    The camper pillow is SOOOO adorable. Love the flags too.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Small Projects for Summer

  3. Pingback: A New Start and Previous Summer Finishes | The Quilting Nook

Leave a comment