First 2016 Finish-A-Long for the 2nd Quarter

2014a-20162bbutton2b2502bbest2b150

Hello everyone. I wanted to share my first finish of the 2nd quarter of the 2016 FAL (that’s a mouth full). You can find my list to finish this quarter here.

 

 

First, though, I was pleasantly surprised on Sunday to get an email informing me that I was a winner from the First Quarter FAL. There were over 800 finishes and about 20 or 30 prizes. I never win anything! My prize is a $25 gift certificate from Green Fairy Quilts. I went online shopping yesterday but there were so many good things, I haven’t decided what I want yet.

My first finish is David’s T-Shirt Quilt.

IMG_0953 (2)

I was very happy how it all came together since this was my first one. Because I only had 10 t-shirts, it took a while to determine the layout and how I was going to use the shirts. I really like the setting. The fabric is Kona Cotton Black and Cream. I decided to do an all over swirl for the quilting and quilted it on my Pfaff 4.0 Quilt Expression.

I played around with two threads, Aurifil 50 Wt 2610, a dark grey, and the dark Superior Threads Mono Poly. I liked the way the Mono Poly looked on the t-shirts, but it’s a little shiny on the black. I used the 2610 Aurifil in the bobbin.

IMG_0954 (2)

IMG_0956 (3)

I can’t remember the manufacturer of the backing, but it’s a soft woven cotton. Very light weight because the t-shirts make the quilt heavier than a normal. The size of the quilt is 67″ x 90″. The large t-shirts  blocks finished at 13″ square. The small ones are 13″ x  5″.

IMG_0958 (2)

It will be a nice reminder of David’s swimming days. I have been making quilts for my nieces high school graduations and next year will be the first nephew. I think I will make him a t-shirt quilt if he can give some up.

I will be spending the next four days at Cotton Tail Quilts’ in-shop quilting retreat. Looking forward to a lot of uninterrupted sewing. Thanks for stopping by.

 

This entry was posted in 2016 Finish Along, FMQ and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First 2016 Finish-A-Long for the 2nd Quarter

  1. Lydia S says:

    This looks great-am glad you had a chance to practice before I dive into mine-whenever that will be!

    Like

  2. aquilterstable says:

    Congrats on your finish AND your win from Q1! I’m visiting on behalf of the FAL hosting team – thanks so much for joining us!

    Like

Leave a Reply

