What’s Up This Week

I hope everyone has had a good week. It’s been busy here. I’m starting to get things ready for my son’s college graduation and visitors early in May. I’m also going to a quilting retreat next week at my LQS Cotton Tail Quilts and I need to get things ready for that. But let’s start with

As you know, I’m going to be a featured blogger and will be doing an embroidered version. Now, I have 100’s of skeins of embroidery floss and I picked some colors to go with the Bright Sun Fabric by Sherri and Chelsi that I’m using. I started working on the first block center and wasn’t quite satisfied with the look. Soooo, I went to Michael’s and spent about half hour picking out some new floss, but I think I have what I want now.

IMG_0933

On April 28, there will be a blog hop and giveaway to introduce all the featured blogger’s Giveaway for April-Maggies First Dance Free BOMso make sure to check back then. Don’t forget to sign up here to join in Jacquelynne’s Free BOM.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This week, I finished free motion quilting the T-Shirt quilt on my Pfaff QE 4.0. I even have one long side of the binding finished.

IMG_0946 (2)

 

I’m pretty happy with the quilting. This is the biggest quilt that I’ve quilted on my machine. I also found out that you really have to move the T-shirts. They don’t glide quite as nicely as the cottons, I think it’s because they are heavier. Once I completely finish, I’ll post all the details on the quilt with more pictures.

As I mentioned, next week I’ll be spending 4 days at a quilting retreat. It’s held at the shop and besides our own sewing, there will be small retreat projects to work on. A few things I plan on working on are:

Village by Miss Rosie’s Quilt Co. This is the Minis and More for March and April hosted by A Quilting Life and Island Life Quilts. I hope to have it put together so I can quilt it at the retreat. So far, I have the houses made. 

IMG_0258

Next, I want to make the Mini Swoon by Thimble Blossoms. I’m going to use the Bright Sun Fabrics for this too. I need to cut  the fabric before getting to the retreat. I like to spend my time sewing, not cutting.

 

 

 

I also want to make the large Cotton Way’s Pretty Little Pouches. I’m going to use some Strawberry Fields Revisited by Fig Tree Quilts.

These should keep me busy along with doing the shop projects. I did the retreat for the first time in the fall and it was lots of fun and met some nice quilters. Can’t wait for this one.

Thanks for stopping by and have a nice weekend.

 

This entry was posted in embroidery, FMQ, Maggie's First Dance, Minis and More and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s Up This Week

  1. Lydia S says:

    Goodness, my head is spinning with all that you have planned. Can’t wait to see your progress.

    Like

Leave a Reply

