2016 Projects and Goals

I’m one of those people that likes to make lists and to set goals. I probably meet about half of the goals I set for the year, but most of them are not critical. If they don’t get done or finished, they may be added to the list for next year or not. I do like to keep a running list of projects that I want to get done in a small notebook. I started this list in 2013.

IMG_0207

The left side are projects completed last year and the right side are new ones for this year. If you turned towards the front however, you would find that there are still lots of projects started and not finished or not started at all.  Some of the projects already have fabric or yarn, while others may be a pattern or just a thought in my head. As the year goes on, I’ll add to the things to the list that I buy or that I want to do.

After I update the big list, I like to go back through the entire list and make up a list for the year of large, medium, small, Christmas, and bag projects.  (I think you can still tell that I have a little bit of the engineer left in me after all these years). Last year, I took it one step further and made a list of things by quarter and in somewhat of a priority order. This at least gives me some direction to go in.

IMG_0236

This year, I’m looking forward to working with the Bright Sun collection by Sherri and Chelsi for Moda. I think I will eventually make “Shangri-La” by Sherri of A Quilting Life. My daughter also wants a wall hanging for her apartment next year out of the cactus and sun fabric.

IMG_0258

We are visiting family in Virginia this week and our first stop is Williamsburg to visit my father-in-law. We went out this morning, and I got dropped off at the local knitting and x-stitch shops, both located in the same shopping center.  I picked up a few more things to add to my list.

IMG_0320(2)

This is the yarn I picked up at the Knitting Sisters.  Now I’ll have to find something to do with it. I’m thinking either a vest or a summer top for the coral and maybe an infinity scarf for the cranberry.

IMG_0341(2)

I picked up these x-stitch patterns at Haus Tirol. The ornament patterns include a full size, about 2.5 inches, and a mini version of each, about 1.5 inches. They were so cute in the small versions. The Busy Bluebirds is a kit and the sample was a needle book. The pineapple is a symbol of hospitality and is associated with Virginia. You see it all over the place in Williamsburg and in Fredericksburg (our next stop).  If you are in Williamsburg, it is worth a visit to both places. The staff at both were very personable and helpful.

We did a quick walk on the Duke Of Gloucester. You can see there were not many visitors today because at noon it was about 40 degrees. We will do a little more site seeing and shopping tomorrow when it is supposed to warm up a little.

Thanks for stopping by and I’ll be back soon.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in 2016 Finish Along and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2016 Projects and Goals

  1. Lydia S says:

    I like to do the same think, but haven’t “felt” it lately. I got a great new planner/calendar from Elise Blaha Cripe called the “Get To Work Book”, I’m loving it so far.

    Like

  2. Lots of good stuff planned

    Like

Leave a Reply

