Some Exciting News

I had some exciting news a few days ago. I won first place in an online contest from Jacquelynne Steves- The Art of Home. Jacquelynne designed the free Cozy Afternoon BOM and sponsored the contest. I knew as soon as I saw the design I had the perfect fabrics for it.  I have a collection of blues and yellows, most from the Summer Breeze lines by Sentimental Studios for Moda. I even had a Laura Ashley print from my nursery fabrics that I was able to use. I called mine Cozy Afternoon at the Cottage.

 

Cozy Afternoon BOM Complete - BH (2)

I just loved the teapot and the cups. Jacquelynne had three different designs; applique centers, embroidery centers, or plain centers. I hand appliqued mine, then added some of the embroidery details. Please check out her website to see her original design and artwork from the designs. My applique does not do them justice, especially the bird.  I changed the sashing and the size from the original quilt. My prize is going to be a fabric kit for the 2016 BOM.  I can’t wait, it will start in May or June.  I’ll keep you posted or sign up for Jacquelynne’s newsletter to see sneak previews and get the dates.

 

IMG_1215

IMG_1231 (3)

I did the FMQ on my Pfaff Quilt Expression 4.0. I used rulers and the ruler foot for the corner pieces inside the block and for the setting triangles. I also used two layers of Dream Select.  That was a first for me, but I wanted the quilting to show up in the pictures.

Cozy Aftrernoon BOM Back - BH

You can really see the quilting from the back. My quilting has really improved in the last 3 years.  I took three classes at my LQS from  Betty New.  She is more of an art quilt maker, but her quilting is fabulous. It was also good because she does her quilting on a Pfaff 1471.  I’m always looking for the Pfaff quilters to see what they are doing. I have also done some online classes through Craftsy.

IMG_1209 (2)

What has really intrigued me since I started following her blog, is Amy’s quilting with rulers on her domestic machine. You can find her at Amy’s Free Motion Quilting Adventures.  My problem was that there was not a ruler foot for the Pfaff. So I continued to watch and learn, but could never practice.  That changed this year when Westalee Designs started manufacturing the ruler foot for all different machines.  Now, Sew Steady is manufacturing the ruler feet for them in the USA.  You can search for the Westalee Ruler foot and find several places that are selling them if you are interested.

I did Amy’s class on Craftsy and learned so much from following along. Cozy Afternoon at the Cottage is my second quilt where I used the ruler foot. The first is Atlantic Flyway by Deb Tucker.

P1030219 (3)

I had a lot of fun doing both of these. It’s not fast, but I never quilt fast anyway. That’s one thing Betty taught us, you don’t have to go fast, you just have to coordinate your hands and feet. It does take practice, but if you keep at it, you will improve.

Thanks for stopping by.  I hope you are enjoying the blog and will share with your friends. Come back soon because I’ll be sharing my goals for the new year and my quilting studio.

 

This entry was posted in FMQ and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Some Exciting News

  1. Heidi says:

    Congratulations Brenda! Your Cozy is really beautiful, and especially the quilting. I have not tried the rulers, but interesting to read about – thank you for sharing!

    Like

  2. Jacquelynne says:

    Your quilt is so beautiful, Brenda- and the back is almost as pretty as the front!!

    Like

  3. Lydia S says:

    Congrats! All your quilts are lovely.

    Like

  4. You always do such lovely work. Can’t wait to see more postings of FOs

    Like

  5. Pingback: Quilting With Rulers | The Quilting Nook

  6. Pingback: New BOM Coming | The Quilting Nook

  7. Pingback: A Busy Week | The Quilting Nook

  8. Pingback: Maggie’s First Dance BOM and Giveaway | The Quilting Nook

Leave a Reply

