Baby Quilt Finish

Hello Everyone! If you are here today expecting a cross stitch update, I’m sorry but this is going to be a brief quilting update. For the past few days, my crafting time has been spent on fully finishing my cross stitch pieces and they are all in different stages of being complete. So instead, I thought I would share the finished baby quilt that I made for my niece’s new baby boy.

I think this turned out so cute and will be perfect for a baby boy. The pattern is Sugar Cookie Quilt from the “Perfect 5” book by It’s Sew Emma. I did rearrange the blocks and they remind me of puzzle pieces or maybe Minecraft images.

The fabrics are Sherri and Chelsi’s Simply Delightful and Admiral Blue Bella Solid for the background, both from Moda.

The backing fabric is a Cozy Cotton Flannel from Robert Kaufman’s Over The Moon line. You can really see the quilting here. I used Quilter’s Dream Delux batting which has a higher loft than what I usually use. I really liked it and think it shows the quilting well. I used my walking foot and turned the quilt as I went. I did mark the lines with a Hera marker. You can read more about that here.

I just mailed the quilt to my niece on Friday, so it hasn’t arrived yet, but I hope to get a few pictures with the quilt and the baby.

Last Thursday, we had dentist appointments so afterwards, my husband and I took a walk around Winchester. It was a spectacular day and the in-town streets were blooming. The first picture was taken from one of the highest points in town and we are looking east towards the Blue Ridge Mountains. The second pictures shows one of the prettier streets with all the dogwoods in bloom. It has been a pretty spring so far and we are trying to get out each week to enjoy it.

I hope you are having a good week and spring. Next week, you can look forward to some cross stitch finishes. As always, thanks for stopping by.

This entry was posted in Quilts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Baby Quilt Finish

  1. Cindy King says:

    What type of thread and color did you use on top and bottom of the baby quilt?

    Like

  2. It’s darling! Your niece will love it!

    Like

  3. Lydia says:

    The baby quilt is going to be well loved-so awesome that you guys could enjoy the afternoon.

    Like

Leave a comment