Quilting and More Quilting

Hello Everyone and welcome back to a quilting update. Actually, I’ve done little else since my last quilting update except to continue to free motion quilt the Blue/Tan Stars Your Way quilt. I did finish one more project, too.

I finished the Mini Charm Pillow or Table Mat by Sherri of A Quilting Life. I was able to finish the pillow cover after I gave the demo of making an envelope pillow back at our last quilt group meeting. The fabrics including the binding are from the Nantucket Summer line by Camille Roskelley for Moda. I love it! I’m looking for a pattern so I can make a quilt with the rest of the Nantucket Summer fabric. I have a layer cake and and some fat quarters. If you have any suggestions, let me know.

I used a left over piece of an Andover Woven Stripe for the back. This fabric was the backing for my Day at the Lake Jelly Roll Sizzle quilt. I only have a little of it left now. It feels good to use up what I have.

Once I finished the pillow, all my quilting time has been spent on the Blue/Tan Stars quilt. I finished quilting all the blocks, then started the swirl quilting in the background of the small star blocks. Well….I decided that the quilted cross hatch squares needed more quilting in that open space. So in went some ribbon candy quilting, which has just added to the length of time it’s going to take me to finish this quilting. I am probably about two-thirds finished with the background quilting and I can definitely get into a rhythm while quilting those swirls. I hope to have it finished soon. I’ve got other quilting projects I want to get to!

I hope you all are having a good week. After a nice warm week last week, we are back to March weather, windy and cold. Good weather to stay inside and quilt.

As always, thanks so much for stopping by.

This entry was posted in Pillows, Quilts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quilting and More Quilting

  1. Helen says:

    Your quilting is amazing

    Like

  2. Lydia says:

    Love these projects! The quilting on the blue/tan stars is amazing.

    Like

  3. Katherine Morvay says:

    Brenda, you might want to look at either Thimble Blossoms TB151 “Flower Girl” or TB260 “Sail.” Depending on whether our granddaughter has a baby girl or baby boy this spring, I am going to use my “Nantucket Summer” bundle to make a quilt. May add some of the “Shoreline” fabrics to it. Katie (now in Maryland and soon to be moving to Hanover, PA, but still quilting and doing cross stitch!)

    Like

Leave a comment