WIP Wednesday, October 5, 2022

Hello Everyone! Today I thought I would share a Works In Progress Wednesday before getting back to our Maine trip. I have a few cross stitch projects and a few quilt projects to share, too.

I’m continuing to work on a few fall smalls. On the left is I Love Fall Most of All by With Thy Needle and Thread. I just need to finish the pumpkin and a small border across the bottom. I’m stitching it on 36 ct. Milk and Honey by Fiber on a Whim using most of the called for floss. I didn’t have the pumpkin color, so I’m using CCW Pumpkin Harvest. I’m thinking about making this into a hanging pouch. We’ll see if that works out or not.

On the right is, Gathering Acorns by Luminous Fiber Arts. It’s stitched on 32 ct. Salted Carmel by Luminous Fiber Arts using DMC 4130. This is the last one in the series. Once it’s finished, I’ll decide how I want to fully finish the other four.

After finishing Cinnamon Stars, I started working on Peace On Earth Sampler by Cottage Garden Samplings. When I stopped working on it late last year, I had the border under the words and the top four branches of the trees on both sides completed. After working on it for five days, this is where I am. I would really like to finish it this year. I started it in 2018, so it’s time. I’m stitching it on 36 ct Vintage Country Mocha by Zweigert.

I was inspired by Julie of The Crafty Quilter to spend a little bit of time last week organizing three of my quilting projects. Two are current projects and one is more like a UFO (Unfinished Object). I went through my progress on each and determined what needed to be done to complete them. I wrote that information down so I can keep myself accountable.

First up is Autumn Stars, a quilt designed by me. I finished all the blocks a few months ago and I finally laid them out in rows. I left it on the floor for a few days and changed the blocks around a little each day. In fact, I don’t think this is the final layout. This quilt needs the blocks sewn together and the borders added.

Next up is my On Point Quilt that I started in September 2017 for National Sew a Jelly Roll Day. This is the only picture I have of it, but I completed the top in August 2018. It’s been waiting for the backing to be made which needs a pieced insert because I don’t have enough fabric. On Sunday, I cut the leftovers from the blocks and cut and pinned the backing fabric so now I’m ready to sew. When I finish the back, I’ll take a picture of it and the front to show you.

Last up is Moda Blockheads 4. I have made 20 blocks, 13-4 1/2″ and 7-9″ blocks. I have really been struggling with the setting for these blocks and have lost my enthusiasm for making the rest of them. After laying out the blocks in my original design, I didn’t like it. So for the past month, I’ve looked for inspiration and tried different things. I wish I had made them all the same size, then I don’t think it would be such a struggle. I did finally find inspiration from Vanessa of Lella Boutique. In an earlier post, she teased a layout with the small blocks pieced with a solid square in between. I decided that was it and ordered the navy and red vine fabrics, both Bonnie and Camille. My intention was to make 18 small blocks and 9 large blocks. I spent Monday on EQ8, trying out different layouts for what I had already made and it will work out to be about a 39″ x 50″ quilt. A nice wall hanging size. I’ve cut the navy fabric and the small blocks are ready to be sewn into 4-patch blocks. Once those are finished, I will measure the center to make sure my calculations are correct before continuing on. I would like to have this one pieced by the end of the month.

Besides the quilting plans and continuing on with the cross stitch, I want to frame Cinnamon Stars and get a few new cross stitch patterns kitted. I have a couple of Thanksgiving designs that I would like to start. I hope to make good progress in the next few weeks. We are headed out again soon on a camping trip and I’m sure we’ll do a couple of day trips as the leaves are changing.

Until next time, thanks so much for stopping by.

This entry was posted in Christmas Cross Stitch, Christmas Sewing, Cross-Stitch, Fall Cross Stitch, Fall Quilting, Moda Blockheads 4, My Patterns, The Quilting Nook Designs, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WIP Wednesday, October 5, 2022

  1. Little Quiltsong says:

    All I can say is ‘Wow’ – you have been deliciously busy with all of your cross-stitching and quilting. Lovely progress in both areas. So enjoyed seeing your updates – and wishing you fun days ahead with your camping and day trips!

    Like

  2. Lydia says:

    Great progress. I’m having a hard time lately carving out large amounts of time to devote to all my crafts. So much crafting- so little time.

    Like

Leave a comment