A Finish and a Little of This and That

Hello Everyone! I hope you are having a pleasant weekend! I spent most of the past week working on my new quilting projects. It seems like a long time since I was able to concentrate on quilting only and not on managing house projects. But lets start with the new cross stitch finish.

I started and finished the small Liberty Chalk Full by Hands on Design and Priscilla Blain. It took three days to stitch, then a few hours to finish it. I’m really pleased with it. I used 16 ct. black Aida and used the called for colors except the blue. I changed CCW Really Tealy for Weeks Sky. I wanted a true blue instead of a teal color. The blue fabric is Mackinac Island from Minick and Simpson and the red dot is an old Minick and Simpson. The back is also Mackinac Island. The buttons are by Just Another Button Co and I bought them from The Cottage Needle.

Since I wasn’t going to put a cording around it, I used a two piece backing which I think makes a little nicer seam than sewing the pillow up at the bottom.

I put Liberty on my corner kitchen shelves and set up a patriotic display. I don’t have as many summer/patriotic things as I do Christmas, but I would like to add to the collection. The embroidered piece is from Jacquelynne Steves Bitty Blooms designs and the mini flag is from the book, Pin Pals, by Carrie Nelson.

Most of this week was spent on my two new projects, the Tootsie Pop table runner by Fig Tree and Co. and Stars and Stripes Forever, also by Fig Tree. The front strips and stars are for the flags in Stars and Stripes and those triangles are for Tootsie Pop. You can also see the yellow blocks for my Moda Rainbow quilt at the back.

I have made quite a few of the Fig Tree Minis. There always seems to be lots of piecing involved, which is okay. Most of the time, Fig Tree designs use the flip and sew method. As I said in my previous post about these two projects, I changed the construction methods. I used Cupcake Mix triangle paper for all those HSTs for Tootsie Pop. You can get 8 out of a 5″ charm square. After sewing them though, they still needed the dog ear corners trimmed and papers removed which took several hours to do, but the size was very accurate.

This is just one group of blocks for Tootsie Pop. I’m shortening the table runner, but I wanted more variety for the blocks, so I made extra. I’m going to use 4 blocks to make a pillow. I’m being very careful to keep the block pieces together as I chain piece, only making a few at a time.

I’ve finished 6 blocks and started playing around with sashing and border options. I’m using the Mackinac Island Charm pack I received in a Sew Sampler Box a few months ago with some extra yardage for the table runner.

I also finished the four flags for my version of Stars and Stripes forever. This was the easy piecing. Each star unit at the bottom of the flags is different and requires lots of flying geese units. Those may be on my agenda to start piecing this afternoon. The fabrics are Catalina fabrics by Fig Tree and I bought the kit for the whole quilt. I’ll have lots of fabric left over for other pretty things.

Speaking of Fig Tree designs and fabrics…

I made a trip to my local quilt shop this week to pick up some All Hallow’s Eve fabric. I purchased the Checkerboards and Stars pattern last year, but couldn’t find any of the fabric anymore. I’m so glad Moda decided to reprint this line again. I rarely make a quilt exactly like the pattern calls for, but I plan on making this one because I really like it just as it is. The fabric on the left is to make the quilt, plus I’ll need a honeybun (1 1/2″ strips) that I ordered from Fat Quarter Shop. The fabrics on the right are some additional fat quarters. I don’t know if I’ll get to this one this year, but at least I’ll have the fabric.

Just one more thing before I go…

I framed my daughter’s ink drawing she drew for me for Mother’s Day. I found the Circuit paper and frame at Target. She is a very talented ink artist which always amazes me because neither my husband or I can draw like she can.

I put in on the shelf behind my sewing machine where I can see all my special treasures.

I hope you all have a healthy and pleasant week. Thanks for stopping by!

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Finishes, Cross-Stitch, minis, Patriotic Cross Stitch, Patriotic Quilts, Pin Cushions, Quilts, Stitchery, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Finish and a Little of This and That

  1. lydia bowen sheffield says:

    Can’t wait to see when you start the Checkerboard & Stars. Those fabrics are great, and LOVE the drawing Emily made-a true treasuer.

    Like

Leave a comment