A Baby Quilt Finish and Other Things

Hello Everyone and welcome back for my weekly crafty update. This week I have a baby quilt and a new project bag to share. I also have some upcoming cross stitch plans to share. I’m combining a quilting and cross stitch update today because I’ll be taking a break from the blog for at least three weeks. We are getting ready to travel, then my daughter will be here for a visit over Memorial Day. It could even be four weeks before I’m back. We will be leaving shortly for a trip to the National Parks in southern Utah. It’s a trip my husband and I have wanted to do for some time. It’s also the first big trip by ourselves in a very long time. I’m sure I’ll have some pretty pictures to share when we get back.

I finished the Fat Quarter Four Patch Shortcut quilt, a free pattern from Fat Quarter Shop. This was an easy quilt to make. I changed the size of the blocks to 12″ finished and used a small fat quarter bundle of Tula Pink’s Besties. I quilted it with a simple meander and used a medium gray Aurifil 50 wt thread. I had just enough of the blue Bella solid left to get a 1″ finished border and a 2 1/4″ binding from it.

For the backing, I used an aqua with a shiny dot fabric that I got from JoAnn’s last year. This turned out to be a really cute quilt. It’s going onto the donation pile for the local hospital systems Baby Shower in October.

After all the cross stitch finishes I shared last week, I still had one left to complete, A Vintage Stitch – Too Hexies by Hands On Design. Cathy finished hers as a small pin pillow, but I didn’t think it was that small. I thought it would look nice on a project bag and so it does. After sewing the hexies together, I hand appliqued them to the background fabric. The fabrics in the bag are Wandering Lane by Nancy Halvorsen. The bag is a bit smaller than the usual ones I make, but it will be a nice size for a smaller chart.

I spent most of last weekend kitting up some new cross stitch projects. I was getting tired of doing them one by one and I am ready to start stitching some summer pieces.

Here are my bags. Most of them have multiple projects in them. They are all ready to go with fabric and floss. Below are pictures of the charts in the bags. As I start sharing the individual projects, I’ll let you know what fabrics I’m using.

American Welcome will become my new morning stitch soon.

This one is from Teresa Kogut’s “Hello Spring” book that released this spring at Needlework Market. There are at least five designs in this book that I would like to do.

I think these will keep me busy through the upcoming months. I’m going to take the Summer Basket Triple Play Pillows by HOD with me on our trip. Maybe I’ll get one of them finished on the airplane.

I hope you all have a great few weeks and thanks so much for stopping by.

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch Finishes, Cross-Stitch, FMQ, Planning, Quilts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Baby Quilt Finish and Other Things

  1. Helen says:

    Enjoy your travels

    Like

  2. Lydia says:

    You’ve got some great projects lined up and I know you are going to have a great time on your trip. I look forward to catching up and seeing photos!

    Like

Leave a comment