October Minis and More and 1st FAL

Hello Everyone! Today is the Minis and More Parade for October. It’s also my first finish for the 2017 Finish-A-Long. You can find my list here.

This month’s pattern is Mini Dashing by Corey Yoder. I felt rather ambitious a few weeks ago and started two versions of it. I completely finished one and need to quilt and bind the second.

IMG_5299.1

You can almost say I made three versions. This is my second try at the Halloween version.  I used leftover charm squares from Deb Strain’s Happy Howl-o-ween by Moda and Riley Blake’s Halloween Crayola Fabric Colors. In the original version, I only used a few of the solids and used two prints for the churn dash blocks.

IMG_5153I liked the pattern, but because I knew I was going out of town, I just picked fabrics for the star blocks and the churn dash blocks without thinking about the color placement. You can see the two purple blocks and the churn dash orange block are not in the final mini. This was all sewn together and I had already taken it apart when I took this picture. I felt it was just too busy, so I made all the churn dash blocks with the Riley Blake solids and took out the purple. I like a little order and I’m much happier with the final version.IMG_5301.1

IMG_5287.1

This is my Christmas version. I also made one new block for this one. I had an aqua star block where the red star block is in the upper right corner. I would probably have made a few more changes if I had more time, but I wanted to get the border on at least to show for the parade. The fabrics in this version are Sweetwater’s Christmas Tree Farm and Cookie Exchange and Basicgrey’s Juniper Berries all by Moda.

IMG_5295.1


IMG_5302.1

I used this cute owl print for the back, but I don’t know who the designer is. I’ve had it in my stash for several years. I quilted in the ditch with 50 wt Aurifil Thread. I’m not sure how I’ll quilt the Christmas one yet. Maybe an allover design of some kind.

Make sure you visit Sherri and Michele to see the rest of the Mini Dashing Parade. It’s always fun to see how everyone makes the same pattern their own.

I have a lot of catching up to do this week. I have two Moda Blockheads, plus the new one on Wednesday to make and the Quilting Life BOM blocks for October to catch up on. Going away for a week is fun, but there is always lots to do when you get home.

Have a great week and thanks for stopping by.

signiture

This entry was posted in Christmas Sewing, minis, Minis and More, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to October Minis and More and 1st FAL

  1. Lydia says:

    So cute! Fun to see the same pattern with very different fabrics.

    Like

  2. mjkasz says:

    I haven’t been making these blocks but love blocks 4, might need to start.

    Like

Leave a Reply

