September Embroidery and a Finish-A-Long

Hello Everyone! I hope all my readers in the Southeast and Florida are bracing for Irma. My husband suggested that I go ahead and pick up some bottled water and food just in case for us. One of the tracks show it moving through central Florida and Georgia, which I would actually prefer. That would hopefully keep it away from Pensacola where my daughter is, and the Outerbanks NC, where we are planning a weeks vacation near the end of the month.

Now on to my finish for the 2017 Finish-A-Long. You can find my list here. If you are visiting for Jacquelynne’s “I Love Home BOM”, this is a post about a finished embroidered piece so you may want to scroll to the Block 2 post after this one, if not, you can find Block 2 here. Be sure to leave your comment on the Block 2 post to win this month’s giveaway.

Now that business is taken care of, on to the finish.

IMG_4750.1

This is September’s “a year in the garden” mini embroidery designed by Jenny of Elefantz. I started these little mini embroideries in January 2016, and finished half of them. This year I’ve been trying to get the rest finished before the month they are due. I almost made it this month! The embroidery was finished, but I wanted to change the background quilt to reflect fall colors. So what better than a Fig Tree  fabric with fall leaves on it. The border on the embroidery is also a Fig Tree fabric.

For the background quilt, I kept the quilting simple and if you look closely, there is no binding. I placed the front and the back with the batting, wrong sides together, sewed around it leaving an opening, then turning. Then I stitched 1/4″ around the edge to make it look like a binding. That’s also how I do the embroidery piece. The borders are added to the front, then I sew it the same way.

IMG_4751.1

I love the big flowers in this design and when I first saw them, I wondered what stitch Jenny used. It’s a buttonhole stitch! I used Auifloss by Aurifil and Sue Spargo’s Elaganza by Wonderfil thread. The light orange and variegated flower are Sue’s 8 wt  perle cotton. The coral flower is the Aurifloss.

IMG_4752.1

The Aurifloss colors are from the Farm House collection by Fig Tree.

IMG_4344

I bought this collection of the Sue Spargo thread at our quilt show in June. I couldn’t wait to use these wonderful fall colors. I’ve also used one of the variegated threads in the “I Love Home” Block 3. You’ll see that in October!

To see all my “a year in the garden embroidery” mini quilts, check out the category by that name on the sidebar.

Thanks for stopping by and stay safe and continued prayers for all those in Texas.

signiture

 

 

This entry was posted in 2017 Finish-A-Long, A Year in the Garden Embroidery, embroidery, minis, Stitchery, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to September Embroidery and a Finish-A-Long

  1. Lydia S says:

    This is sooo cute- love the fall colors.

    Like

  2. Elizabeth Porter says:

    Your Sept. block is very lovely with the use of the fall colors.

    Like

  3. Carol says:

    Way to go! Your block is beautiful!

    Like

  4. Carol says:

    Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

