First Finish-A-Long, Q3

2017-fal-button-125

Hello Everyone! I have my first finish for Q3 of the 2017 FAL to show you.

 

IMG_4418

It’s a T-Shirt Quilt commissioned by another swim friend of my daughter. The sashing pieces are Ash (gray) and Onyx Grunge by BasicGrey for Moda. The border is Adventure Awaits Black Arrows and Triangles by Wee Gallery for Dear Stella Fabrics. Caitlyn picked the fabrics for the sashing and borders. That was a big help in designing the quilt.

IMG_4409

The back is Liberty Gatherings Woven by Primitive Gathering. The red is a nice accent to all the black and gray on the front.

IMG_4407

I used a smoke YLI invisible thread on the top and a red 50 wt. Aurifil in the bobbin. I like the invisible thread on the T-Shirts because it gives the quilting a nice texture without smothering the t-shirts.

I decided to use my walking foot to quilt an edge to edge design. I also didn’t want it to be horizontal, 90 or 45 degrees, so I marked it out for 30 degrees. There is a larger section of gentle curves, then a smaller section of straight lines. My original idea was to do a straight line zigzag where the straight lines are, but the quilt is heavy, so I didn’t want to keep turning it.

IMG_4406

After quilting a little over half the quilt, I turned the quilting, so it was going more vertical (now at 60 degrees) in the opposite direction. I used the Hera marker to make the registration lines, then quilted those lines first. If I use this method again, I may not quilt all those lines first because sometimes the fabric was pushed towards those stitched lines, then had no where to go. I had my pressure foot set very high, so that helped some. It also could have been because of the angle or the T-Shirts themselves.

IMG_4421

This is Caitlyn and her mom with the quilt. I hope she will get many years of use from it and that it will bring back great memories for her. She is a very good swimmer and is off to the University of Nevada Reno to be a member of its swim team.

Oh, by the way. I took a really quick trip to see my daughter in Pensacola earlier in the week. My husband is a pilot and flew four Pensacola trips with layovers this month, so he’s been able to have dinner with her. I was able to get on an airplane and fly with him on his last trip and surprise my daughter. We spent a couple of hours on the beach, then had a nice dinner and a walk on the pier. It was an early night because the flight back left at 6:00 the next morning. It was fun to see my daughter and I know why she loves being down there. I think she goes to the beach almost everyday.

IMG_4415

IMG_4417

Hope you have a great weekend and thanks for stopping by.

signiture

 

This entry was posted in 2017 Finish-A-Long, T-Shirt Quilts, Travel, Uncategorized, Walking Foot Quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Finish-A-Long, Q3

  1. Lydia says:

    The tshirt quilt looks great! so nice y’all have been able to see Emily in Florida.

    Like

Leave a Reply

