The Blue Angels and Some Quilting

Hello Everyone! I’ve been busy working on the T-Shirt quilt and I made this weeks Moda Blockhead block. But mostly I want to share some pictures my daughter took of the Blue Angles Air Show over Pensacola Beach last Saturday.

First, I finished the T-Shirt quilt top and have started quilting it.

IMG_4362

I used two rulers and the Hera marker to mark registration lines. I set this five pound weight on the rulers to keep them from slipping. Hope to finish this up by the end of the week.

Next, I finished Block 18 of the Moda Blockheads BOW by Carrie Nelson at Moda Fabrics.

IMG_4363

It’s called Rocky Mountain Puzzle and is one of my favorite blocks so far. I can see a whole quilt made from this block in southwestern colors.

Now onto the airshow.

IMG_4373

My daughter was able to attend the Blue Angel Banquet on the beach the night before the air show as the date of one of the Pensacola Beach Lifeguards who were invited to it. She’s the one of the left with her twin Brazilian swim team mates. She’s with Blue Angel 5 and 6, the solos. Number 6 grew up right here in our county.

The group she was with camped on the beach so they could beat the crowds. This was their sunrise the next morning. You can see that they weren’t the only ones camping out.

IMG_4374

IMG_4375

Fortunately, the storms stayed away and it looked like they had a perfect day for the show. By the way, these pictures are unedited, just the sun shining on the clouds early in the morning.

IMG_4364

IMG_4365

IMG_4366

IMG_4367

IMG_4369

IMG_4370

IMG_4371

IMG_4372

IMG_4376

IMG_4377

IMG_4378

One of my favorites!

IMG_4382

IMG_4383

I hope you enjoyed seeing the pictures like we did. We’ve seen the Blue Angels lots of times at different airshows, but we would love to see them over the beach! If you’ve never seen them or the Air Force Thunderbirds, you should make every effort to see them if they do a show close to you. It is well worth it!

Thanks for stopping by.

signiture

This entry was posted in Moda Blockhead BOW, T-Shirt Quilts, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Blue Angels and Some Quilting

  1. Lydia says:

    Wow the photos are awesome-what kinds of lens did she use-anything special. I’ve seen them both, but it’s been awhile.

    Like

Leave a Reply

