New Block of the Month Starting Soon!

Hello Everyone! I hope you have had a great week. I have some great news to share today, Jacquelynne Steves has announced her new Block of the Month and it starts in August. I will again be a guest blogger and can’t wait to share it with you.

ImMakingILoveHome-JacquelynneSteves-450pix

ILoveHome_BOM-JacquelynneSteves

It’s called “I Love Home” and it will have 4 appliqued or embroidered house blocks with piecing around them. The finished block size is 18″ and the applique area is 8″. The houses are so cute and whimsical. You can sign up now on Jacquelynne’s Web Site. She will email each block to you on the first Monday of the month starting in August. It will last for five months, so there’s no long term commitment. There will also be prizes and giveaways every month. This year, Olfa is a new sponsor and will be offering a giveaway. They were also very generous and sent Jacquelynne’s bloggers for the BOM this great package.

IMG_4231

I just received it yesterday and can’t wait to try out the new Endurance Blade.  I needed a new mat, too. The one I keep next to my machine is the first one I bought over 25 years ago and my kids cracked it many years ago, so I broke it into two pieces. I’ve been using it for small things, but the cracked part is getting worse. This will be the perfect size for that area.

For the houses, I will be using fusible applique with a hand buttonhole stitch. I will also be incorporating some of the embroidery designs on it. I plan on using Fig Tree fabric lines Coney Island and Chestnut Street with some others thrown in here and there.

IMG_4085

I am also using a bundle of Moda Bella Solids that will match the fabrics. Jacquelynne will have the same fabric that she used in her quilt for sale and will announce the availability of it next week. If you want a bundle though, order it early because it always sells out.

IMG_4233

I purchased this package of Aurifloss by Aurifil Threads to go with my fabrics and will be using it for the applique and embroidery. You can see I’ve already starting using them!Aurifil is also a sponsor and will be offering a giveaway one month. Wouldn’t you love to have a package of Aurifil thread?

I hope you decide to sign up and will join us. I’ll be back soon with and update on my works in progress. Most of this week has been spent quilting the graduation quilts.

Thanks for stopping by,

signiture

 

 

This entry was posted in applique, I Love Home BOM, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Block of the Month Starting Soon!

  1. Lydia says:

    I won’t be joining “this time”, but can’t wait to see how this comes together.

    Like

  2. Pingback: This and That and More Info On BOM | The Quilting Nook

Leave a Reply

