A Whale of a Tale and a Q2 FAL Finish

Hello Everyone! I’m excited that I can finally show you the nautical quilt that I made for Jacquelynne Steves The Art of Home Club. This quilt is also on my list for the 2017 Finish-A-Long for Q2. You can find my list here.

WhaleyWonderfulQuiltPillow-TheArtOfHomeClub-JacquelynneSteves

Photo courteous of The Art of Home Club

The collection is Whale-y Wonderful. It contains instructions for the quilt, pillow, applique and embroidery. This quilt is just so cute! Jacquelynne’s designs are so whimsical and her instructions are very well written. You can sign up on her website to be notified when the club opens to new membership again.

P1030347-2

I used most of the fabrics that Jacquelynne had selected in her original design. The blue flower, border, binding and one of the reds are from the Sunday Drive collection by Pat Sloan for Moda. I substituted the white print with the Bonnie and Camille Basics for Moda which I already had. The white is Bleached White Bella Solid for Moda, the anchors and starfish are scraps from my Bonnie and Camille collection and the whales are Moda Grunge by Basic Gray. The rest of the reds came from my stash.

IMG_3802

P1030350-2

I used fusible web and invisible machine applique with clear nylon thread on the anchors and starfish and smoke on the whales. I used a small zigzag stitch.  It almost looks like the applique was hand sewn. I added the embroidery details to the applique from the embroidery patterns. There weren’t any for the anchor, but when I get the quilt back, I think I might add an anchor rope.

IMG_3807-line

What do you think?

IMG_3831-2

I free motion quilted wavy overlapped lines in the applique area. I think it gives the quilt movement like the sea. In the red triangles, I used my ruler foot to quilt straight lines and in the pinwheels, I quilted big loops.

IMG_3814

In the border, I quilted large swirls. I used Aurifil 50 wt to piece and quilt and changed the color of the thread to match the background. The backing is Freedom by Sweetwater for Moda.

P1030366-2

I always like the way the backing showcases the quilting.

IMG_3826

And one last look at the full quilt. I had fun taking the pictures at our local small city lake park.

Thanks for stopping by and have a great weekend.

signiture

This entry was posted in applique, Art if Home Club, embroidery, FMQ, Free Motion Ruler Work, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Whale of a Tale and a Q2 FAL Finish

  1. Brenda, what a fabulous quilt! I love it! Like your idea for the anchor rope, too.

    Like

  2. Bobby Vaughan says:

    That is a beautiful quilt. You are so talented. Mom

    Like

  3. It is so pretty. Really like the applique.

    Like

  4. lucyannluna says:

    Looks fantastic

    Like

  5. Lydia says:

    This is amazing, you are so talented.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Picnic Placemat Tutorial | The Quilting Nook

  7. This is so cute!! On behalf of the global FAL hosts, thank you so much for playing along with us this quarter!

    Like

Leave a Reply

