Wednesday Works in Progress

Hello Everyone! I hope you’re having a good week so far. I’m actually doing a Wednesday WIP Post!

First up though, I have some exciting news. My friend Joyce who created the Lap App, took a pattern I wrote for a tote bag to Quilt Market with her. The bag is big enough to carry the Lap App and all your tools in.

IMG_3892

This is the large bag with the Lap App. There are also instructions for a medium size bag that will also hold the Lap App. I am in the process of setting up and online store and will have it for sale early next week. The fabrics in the bag are Valley by Sherri and Chelsi for Moda.

Now for my WIPs.

IMG_3977-2

I just finished the quilt top for my nephew’s graduation quilt. It’s a Coins quilt inspired by one that Pat Sloan made a few months ago. The fabric is Adventures by Amy Ellis for Moda. I’m still thinking about how to quilt it. I have several ideas running around in my head.

Next, I started the quilt for my niece’s graduation. (They both graduate next week, so they won’t be getting them until June. Sorry!)

IMG_3981

The pattern is Crosshatch by Amy Smart and is from her Craftsy Class, Pre-Cut Shortcuts. I hope it will go together quickly. These are big pieces, a 10″ x 10″ square cut in half. I think the block size is 11″. Both of these are going to be big quilts.

I also took a day over the weekend to work on the Minis and More Parade for May which is a Pineapple Mini.

IMG_3984

You can find the directions here if you want to join in. It went together very quickly. I’m adding the Welcome embroidery to it. I haven’t decided yet if it will be a pillow, wall hanging or maybe even a framed piece. The directions have two sizes for the pineapple block, mine is 6″ x 10 1/2″ and there is also a smaller one, 4″ x 7″.

And finally, I finished the Moda Blockheads block for this week.

IMG_3985

This is block designed by Jan Patek. I used the fusible applique method, then appliqued it with a hand buttonhole stitch using Aurifloss. The original block was not set on point, but I think that’s how I’m going to set my blocks, so I had to squeeze the applique in the 6″ square. I cut the background larger like I do on all my applique, so this block has not been trimmed yet. I don’t think my original reference lines are going to be accurate anymore. Now it’s time for Block 11. They are released every Wednesday. You can find the block each week here on Betsy’s blog. And as I was getting the link, I took a quick peek at this week’s block and it’s going to be more tiny triangles. Sigh!!! I do like a challenge, though, keeps things from getting to boring.

I will be busy the rest of the week with some very badly needed yard work, but I’ll try to get a few hours of sewing in each day too. Have a great week and thanks for stopping by.

signiture

This entry was posted in Bags and Tote Bags, Carry-All Quilter, Coins Quilt, Crosshatch Quilt, embroidery, minis, Minis and More, Moda Blockhead BOW, Stitchery, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wednesday Works in Progress

  1. Lydia says:

    I love the pineapple-well done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

