Second Finish for 2017 FAL Q2

2017-fal-button-125

Hello Everyone! I hope you are having a good week. I have my second finish for the 2017 Finish-a-Long, you can find my Q2 list here. It’s a pillow that I made using an applique/embroidery design from Jacquelynne Steves The Art of Home Club January collection.

IMG_3958

Here it is all flat before I inserted the pillow form. It would look good on the wall or on a table just as it is, but I like it as a pillow.

IMG_3963-3

I chose this design because I needed another spring/summer pillow for my foyer bench and what better than flowers and pinwheels. The fabrics are mostly Bonnie and Camille for Moda.

IMG_3959

Instead of all applique or all embroidery, I mixed the two techniques. I did fusible applique with a hand button-hole stitch. I used a chain stitch in some of the stems and added satin stitches, too.

The rest of the design started with these half square triangles leftover from some of my swoon blocks.

When I was planning, I thought the HST were bigger than they are. My original design was for a 4″ pinwheel. After I pulled them out, I realized that plan wouldn’t work, so I drew up another design.

IMG_3970

It’s good to be flexible!

IMG_3954

When I quilt a top for a pillow, I use a piece of muslin on the back. I used two pieces of Quilter’s Dream Request for the batting and free motion quilted with Aurifil thread, 50 wt, number 2800.

IMG_3968-2

And here it is on the bench. I think I need another square pillow. What do you think?

Thanks for stopping by!

signiture

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Second Finish for 2017 FAL Q2

  1. Brenda, I love your pillow, it looks fantastic! Your bench looks terrific, but hey, one can always use an extra pillow!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Diane says:

    Very cute pillow. I have a piece of embroidery that I want to turn into a pillow and have been wondering how to do it. Your instructions about using muslin and batting are very helpful.

    Like

  3. Lydia says:

    these are so cute-maybe this summer you can help me with my embroidery! How about a round pillow?!

    Like

Leave a Reply

