Works In Progress and Travel

Hello Everyone! I hope you’re having a good week. I’ve been trying to catch up and keep up after our long weekend trip to Blue Ridge, GA.

First up is the Quilting Life BOM by Sherri McConnell. Clink the link if you want to join in. The blocks are fun and so far go together quickly. I’m doing both the 12″ and 6″ versions.

IMG_3922

The 12″ blocks are made with Pondicherry fabrics by French General for Moda and the 6″ blocks are from an assortment of Fig Tree fabrics for Moda.

IMG_3923

Here are all four blocks on top of the blue border fabric. I think I will do a solid sashing either in the gray or red, maybe even a cream. I’ll start playing with that soon.

IMG_3924

And the Fig Tree Blocks. I think this will end up as a wall quilt. Sherry has posted the block for May and it uses leftover HST from April’s block and then 2 more larger HST. I need to trim everything up and sew it together and the next two blocks will be finished, too.

Next up is the Moda Blockheads BOW. I got a little behind while I was working on the Nautical Quilt, but am all caught up in time for today’s Block. New blocks are posted every Wednesday. These are 6″ blocks and there will be 48. For me only 40 to go!

IMG_3925

This is Block 7. It has just a little bit of fusible raw edge applique. Nothing too hard to do.

IMG_3926

Now for Block 8. This one really shouldn’t have been hard, but I made the mistake of trimming the bottom basket portion before sewing the top part on and it ended up being about 1/8th less wide then it was supposed to be. That really wasn’t a big deal except when I sewed the basket handles together, I sewed them in the wrong direction. So when I finally got the handles where they needed to go, I realized my mistake and had to take the handle off for third time and then redo all of that side.  Some days are just like that.

So for the rest of this week, I’ll complete the BOM blocks and get Block 9 finished. Then I need to cut out the fabric for two graduation quilts. I’m sure I won’t get them finished in time for graduation at the end of May, but I hope to get them finished by the middle of June.

Now, just a little bit about our Blue Ridge trip. My husband and I were celebrating our 32nd Anniversary and it was Trout Fest in Blue Ridge last weekend, too. My husband loves to fly fish and has fished many times around that area. We rented a cabin that sat up on a ridge facing the east.IMG_3870

This was our view from the screen porch. There was also a lower deck that had a grill, table and a fire table.

IMG_3874

We enjoyed sitting out there in the evenings with a glass of wine. Very relaxing. We didn’t watch TV all weekend.

IMG_3881

We had a pretty sunrise on Saturday morning. I’m glad I took the pictures then because Sunday was overcast and misty in the morning and we left in heavy rain and power outages on Monday. We spent Saturday at the Trout Fest and shopping around Blue Ridge. It’s a cute town with lots of artisans and boutiques.

Before we went to Blue Ridge, I looked up a couple of waterfalls in the area to hike too. The first one is Long Creek Falls and to get to it, you had to drive down a forest service road for almost 6 miles. To get to the falls, you hiked for a mile on the Appalachian Trail (AT) and the Benton MacKaye (BM) trails.

The first picture show the blazes for the trails, the rectangle is the AT and the diamond is the BM. Springer Mountain is the southern terminus for both trails. For those who may not know, the AT goes all the way to Maine, and the BM goes somewhere in Tennessee.

Here we are at Long Creek Falls. It was a pretty easy hike to get there. It’s probably about 50 yards off the AT trail. I like hike to the water falls. We picked up a book in Blue Ridge about Day Hikes in North Georgia. I told my husband I would like to start doing more hiking to the water falls.

IMG_3911-s

This bridge is across the AT and BM that goes to Springer Mountain. We hiked up (which started to go up almost immediately) for about 5 minutes just to get a flavor of the AT trail. We went through a dense cove of Rhododendron. My husband has worked with a few people that have hiked portions of the AT and they comment on how monotonous it can get day after day of the same views.IMG_3915We took a side trip to go to Fall Branch Falls. It was only about 1/4 mile hike, but all up hill. It was off the BM trail about 10 miles away from Long Creek Falls. It was a tiny little creek, but lots of water over the falls. We had a good time during our trip. April was the fourth month in a row we have traveled. We may go camping this month and hike some more water fall trails. We’ll have to see what happens over the next few weeks.

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you enjoyed the travelogue.

signiture

 

This entry was posted in Moda Blockhead BOW, Quilting Life BOM, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Works In Progress and Travel

  1. Lydia says:

    The photos from your weekend are lovely. It’s awesome you posted a selfie with Joe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

