March Minis and More and Last Finish for Q1, 2017 Finish-A-Long

Hello everyone, I’m back again with the last finish of the 2017 Finish-A-Long for Q1. You can find my list here.

This month’s mini, hosted by Sherri and Michele, is Mini Ferris Wheel by Fig Tree and Co.

IMG_3692

The original pattern had an outside border, but I decided not to put it on because I wanted just a little bit smaller quilt. This measures 16″ x 16″ and the blocks are 6 1/2″. I used fabrics from Desert Bloom by Sherri and Chelsi and Sundrops by Cory Yoder, both by Moda. You may recognize the sashing and border fabric as the same Moda Grunge that I used in Allison’s T-Shirt Quilt.

I quilted it with one of my favorite colors Aurifil 50 wt 2110, light lemon. It just seems to blend with a lot of my fabrics. I was going to quilt it with straight line quilting, but then decided to put on my free motion foot. I wanted to emphasize the wheel, so I quilted close lines in the background and left the spokes unquoted. In the center, I did a small cross-hatch. In the sashing, I did straight line quilting with the free motion foot, but in the border I switched to my walking foot.

IMG_3695

I like the back on this one, too, because it shows the quilting. But, if you look closely, you can see where I missed quilting in several of the corners. The backing is made from layer cake squares of Bright Sun by Sherri and Chelsi and the binding is also from Bright Sun.

IMG_3696

The size is perfect for my family room coffee table. It really brightens up the room. I have been starting to put up winter minis and quilts and put out the spring décor. It’s fun to be able to change things up every few months.

I am also making Sherri’s BOM, both sizes.

IMG_3670

The 12″ block is made from Pondicherry Fabric by The French General  and the 6″ version are Fig Tree fabrics, both by Moda.

I am starting a new endeavor; writing a bag pattern for a bag that I designed and made several years ago. My friend Joyce, who designed the Lapapp, asked if I would write a pattern for her to sell at market this spring. Of course I said YES!

IMG_3699

So I pulled out my Valley Fabrics, by Sherri and Chelsie (can you tell I like their fabrics), and started making a new bag and working on the instructions. Stay tuned for more information later this month.

Remember to visit Sherri and Michele on Monday, April 3 for the Minis and More Parade. Also if you missed  my post on our Arizona trip, you can find it here to see some great pictures of a beautiful area. I’ll post the Grand Canyon pictures this weekend. Thanks for stopping by.

signiture

This entry was posted in 2017 Finish-A-Long, minis, Minis and More, Quilting Life BOM, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to March Minis and More and Last Finish for Q1, 2017 Finish-A-Long

  1. Lydia says:

    Well done! Can’t wait to see the bag finished-love the colors you pulled together.

    Like

  2. Pingback: 2017 Q2 Proposed Finishes and Q1 Finishes | The Quilting Nook

Leave a Reply

