T-Shirt Quilt Finish

Hello Everyone! I have a finish today for the 2017 Finish-A-Long. You can find my list here. We are reaching the end of the quarter and it doesn’t seem like I’ve finished many things, but I have been very busy.

Today, I want to share Allison’s T-Shirt Quilt.

IMG_3664 - Copy

The quilt is 72″ x  84″ and I used 25 t-shirts. The sashing fabric is Moda Grunge Ash and the border is Moda Grunge Pool. It’s pieced and quilted with Aurifil 50 wt.

IMG_3664 - Copy 2

I quilted each T-shirt with a free form wave using my free motion foot on my Pfaff Quilt Expression 4.0.  I marked the first line, then used the foot as a guide to quilt the rest of the waves. They aren’t perfectly spaced, but from a distance, they are close enough. In the sashing, I quilted an overlapping ribbon candy, which I used for the first time. I used the ruler foot and templates in the border and only marked the main line of each curve set. I want to point out the #15 shirt with the gator. Allison wanted me to use the gator which was on the sleeve if I could. I just couldn’t get it to be the right size, so I cut the gator out and machine appliqued it to the bottom of the shirt.

IMG_3662

Since I had to piece the back, I added a few of the leftover shirts. The label is also made out of a shirt that didn’t make it into the quilt. The back is a Moda Poetry Woven Cotton. Because the t-shirts are heavy and I like to use a soft backing, this is good compromise for flannel. You can see how the quilting gives a lot movement to the quilt. Especially good for a mostly swim T-Shirt quilt! When Allison gave me the shirts, she was specific about which shirts to use first and whether she wanted fronts, backs, pockets to be used. This was a tremendous help in the design.

IMG_3675

This is Allison with her quilt. She is a swim friend of my daughter’s and will be swimming for Florida Southern next year. Congratulations Allison.

As I said, I’ve been busy with some other things. I decided to do the Moda Blockheads Block of the Week.

IMG_3671

This is week three. The blocks are posted each Wednesday. They are 6″ blocks and so far have been pretty easy, but Week 4 is an applique. I need to get it printed and get busy on it.

Tomorrow I will have March’s Minis and More for you and this weekend, I will finish posting our Arizona trip pictures. Thanks for stopping by and be sure to check in tomorrow.

signiture

 

 

 

This entry was posted in 2017 Finish-A-Long, Moda Blockhead BOW, T-Shirt Quilts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to T-Shirt Quilt Finish

  1. Great T-shirt quilt, Brenda! Congratulations on a fab finish!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lydia S says:

    Great job on the quilt-still planning mine with my road race shirts in my head!

    Like

  3. Pingback: March Minis and More and Last Finish for Q1, 2017 Finish-A-Long | The Quilting Nook

  4. Pingback: 2017 Q2 Proposed Finishes and Q1 Finishes | The Quilting Nook

Leave a Reply

