This and That Update

Hello Everyone! I hope you have had a good week. The beginning of the week was busy catching up on household chores after our trip to Mississippi last week, but I managed to get a few fun quilting things done.

During our 7 hour drive each way last week, I finished one panel of embroidery of Crabapple Hill’s Over the River and Through the Woods. I bought this as a kit in 2009.

img_28942img_28932

This is actually one piece, 9″ x 36″, but I couldn’t get a good picture of the whole thing. These aren’t the best pictures either, but they will do for now. I started this in 2014 and it has done a lot of traveling. You can see in the top picture I spilled coffee on it. I got most of that out where it mattered, but I have another spot in it! I’ll have to give it a good wash. This is the first panel of 3. I hope the others won’t take quite as long to finish.

There are a lot of things I would do differently if I were to start this now. The embroidery is all done in stem stitch because it looked better than my backstitch at the time. I’ll keep the other panel of scenery in stem stitch, but I may do the words in backstitch. The stem stitch is probably faster though. I also used another piece of fabric to back this with instead of interfacing. I had to look for the other 2 panels, and they were not backed in anything yet. I did use some woven fusible interfacing on those and was very careful fusing them because I used a Frixon pen to mark rhem with.

I also got started on this little x-stitch before we left and continued to work on it this week.

img_2895

The x-stitch is almost finished now. I plan on making a needle book to hold my x-stitch needles. I would like to make several needle books to hold my different type of needles. I have one that I use now, and my needles are a jumbled mess. Look for those in the future.

This week, I also finished February’s  Quilting Life BOM blocks by Sherri of A Quilting Life.

img_2896

I’m using Pondicherry Fabric by French General for Moda for the 12″ block and Figtree Fabrics for Moday for the 6″ block.

Yesterday, I finished the back for the T-shirt quilt. I hope to get that basted today and start quilting it this weekend.

I hope you have a good weekend and thanks for stopping by!

signiture

This entry was posted in Cross-Stitch, embroidery, Quilting Life BOM, Stitchery, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This and That Update

  1. Lydia says:

    It’s so nice to have something to show for your time that isn’t spent cleaning or doing laundry!

    Like

    • Brenda says:

      Trust me, I do plenty of that especially laundry! You just spend a lot of your time knitting. I haven’t knitted anything this year, but I think I might have found a pattern for my yarn on Craftsy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

