Feelin’ Fruity and Other Things

 

Hello Everyone! Happy Monday! We were in the Mississippi delta most of last week watching my daughter’s conference swim meet. Although the girls were swimming best times, they came in third. They had a good meet though, some set new records and made NCAA D2 times. My daughter made finals every night and swam some of her best times. I even did my part and timed one day, something I haven’t done in a couple of years.

This year I took my smaller Pfaff machine and finished my first three swoon blocks.

img_2867

img_2869

My husband laughed at me, but I was able to sew about 1 1/2 hours each morning and we spent one afternoon in the room. There is not that much to do in that part of Mississippi and what there is to do, we did last year. I was able to finish some hand embroidery, but I  don’t have a picture yet.

Now on to Feelin’ Fruity…

Feelin’ Fruity is Jacquelynne Steve’s Art of Home Club pattern for February and I made the sample for her.

img_2774

The pattern includes 6 fruity embroidery patterns and instructions to make the table runner and the placemat.  As usual, Jacquelynne’s design is fresh and fun and her instructions are easy to follow. If you are a club member, you’ll enjoy making these, if not, you can sign up for her newsletter so you will know when she opens the club again for sign ups.

img_2775

I used fabrics from Lori Holt’s Calico Days by Riley Blake. The blocks in the table runner uses all the same fabrics for each block. The placemats use the same color scheme, but are different fabrics. img_2777

The fruit designs were embroidered with Aurifloss by Aurifil and of course Aurifil 50 wt thread to free motion quilt with.

img_2783

I quilted around the embroidered pieces to make them pop, then used my ruler foot and straight template to make the diamonds. The pink quilting is a new design that I practiced first by drawing it, then quilting it on some practice pieces. I used a drafting circle template to mark the circles with an air erasable marker.

The stitcheries are about 4 1/2 inches and would be cute as a long narrow wall hanging (bell pull type) to hang in your kitchen. Jacquelynne always has some great ideas on how to use the designs.

 

feelinfruitytablerunner-theartofhomeclub-c

From the Art of Home Club

 

I hope you enjoyed Feelin’ Fruity. Thanks Jacquelynne for asking me to make them. Don’t forget to sign up for her newsletter. Thanks for stopping by.

signiture

This entry was posted in Art if Home Club, embroidery, FMQ, Free Motion Ruler Work, Stitchery, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Feelin’ Fruity and Other Things

  1. Lydia says:

    So cute!

    Like

Leave a Reply

