Works In Progress

Hello Everyone! I hope you had a good week. I’ve been busy with several things.

swoon-block

 

At the beginning of the week, I decided I would work on three swoon blocks at a time and try to complete one construction step a day. There are a lot of pieces in each block. Well, I only finished three steps, but at least it was a start.

 

 

img_2837

I made all the half square triangles, the star points and four of the outer units. I’m not in a hurry and my goal is to work on them regularly.

My big project this week was a commissioned T-Shirt quilt. I had hoped to get it finished before Christmas, but I ended up having to order fabric for the sashing. The T-shirts and interfacing were already rough cut, so I got the fusing done, then cut the T-shirts to size. After cutting the sashing and cornerstones, the quilt went together quickly.

img_2843

The sashing and border fabrics are Grunge by Basic Grey for Moda. I plan to quilt it using some of the ideas I got from Christa Watson’s Machine Quilting workshop. You can read more about the workshop here.

This week, I also started this month’s mini for the Minis and More Parade. Instead of giving us a pattern this month, we need make something with pink and red in it.

img_2831

I decided to use my leftovers from cutting the swoon blocks to make some new fabric. I almost have the mini finished, but you’ll have to wait a few days to see the final piece. Something a little different than what I usually do.

We will be going to Mississippi this week to see my daughter’s conference swim meet. Because we pretty much did everything in the area there was to do last year, I’m taking my small sewing machine to work on a few things in the hotel room.  I’ll continue to work on the swoon blocks and if I can get them cut out, I’ll make the Quilting Life BOM blocks for February.

I want to leave you with this awesome picture my daughter took with her new camera…

img_2852

…Friday night’s partial eclipse.

Thanks for stopping by.

signiture

 

This entry was posted in 2017 Swoon Along, minis, Minis and More, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Works In Progress

  1. Lydia says:

    Look forward to seeing your progress. The moon photos is stunning.

    Like

  2. Pingback: This and That Update | The Quilting Nook

Leave a Reply

