First 2017 FAL and January Minis and More

Hello Everyone! I hope you have had a good week. It’s been crazy weather around here. Last week we had temperatures in the 70’s and this week we have slowly gotten back to normal. This week we are supposed to be back up to the mid 60’s. I have some Encore Azaleas (the kind that bloom in the spring then again in late summer and fall) that have some blooms on them. I don’t know if these are leftover from the fall or if they think it’s springtime. We’ll have to wait and see how they bloom in April.

2017-fal-button-125

 

In the meantime, I have my first 2017 finish. You can see my first quarter list here. It’s also the January Minis and More hosted by Sherri and Michele.

 

img_2643-2This month we needed to finish a UFO. I started this little wall hanging last fall, intending to have it finished by the time we went camping in late October. I got this far with it, stitched in the ditch and the binding made, then that was it. I set it aside to do other things. It started as a kit that included the panel of campers and enough fabric for the inner and outer borders and binding. The fabric is Happy Camper by Dt-K Signature for Studio E Fabrics.

img_2748

Here it is all finished!! I free motion quilted it as a warm up to the project I’m working on for Jacquelynne Steve’s. The quilting on the side inner borders is a new design for me and I wanted to practice it before using it on Jacquelynne’s project.

img_2748-2

I outlined all the camper details, banners and words. I also practiced the little swirl design in the background. It’s getting better, but still needs some work. I think I need to open it up a little. The crosses in the outer border were quilted without marking, just eyeballing it. I’m pleased that my lines are as straight as they are.

img_2751

I always like how the back can show the details of the quilting. You can really see the campers here. And I even have my label on, now to write on it! Thanks Sherri and Michele for the challenge. It might have been another year before I got this finished without it.

Saturday was  sewing day with my Quilty Friends in a local hotel lobby and conference center. Last year we all worked on our Blocks on the Go for Quilts that Grow. I’ve finished all the individual blocks (you can see my latest progress here) so I needed some hand work to take with me. This is what I pulled out to take with me…

It’s a panel from the pattern “Over the River and Through the Woods” by Crabapple Hill. I bought the quilt as a kit in 2009 and finally started working on it in 2014. The kit I bought had blue and white fabrics in it and had the blue floss included, too. I saw this quilt finished on Pinterst with two colors in the stitchery, so that’s what I decided to do. I’m almost finished with the first panel. My goal is to get all the stitchery done this year.

Here’s another sneak peek at my project for Jacquelynne

img_2741Can you guess what it’s going to be? You’ll find out on February 20th. I’ve started the quilting and hope to finish that today.

I hope you have a great week. Thanks for stopping by.

Brenda

This entry was posted in 2017 Finish-A-Long, Art if Home Club, embroidery, FMQ, Minis and More, Stitchery, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First 2017 FAL and January Minis and More

  1. Lydia says:

    I love the campers. Looking forward to seeing the panels as you finish them.

    Like

  2. Pingback: 2017 Q2 Proposed Finishes and Q1 Finishes | The Quilting Nook

Leave a Reply

