A Quick Update

img_2660

Hello from Fredericksburg,Virginia. This was our view most of yesterday. We are visiting my parents and may go to Williamsburg on Monday, but they had 10-12 inches, so that may be iffy.

This is just a quick catchup from the past  few days. Since I’ve not been at home, I’ve been planning my Swoon 16 for the Instagram #swoonalong hosted by Camille of Thimbleblossoms. Instead of 16 or 25 blocks, I decided to go with 20 blocks for an overall size of 86″ x 106″. I spent yesterday’s snowy morning figuring out dimensions and amount of background and border fabric I needed.

img_2663

I’m used my quilting design notebook to sketch out the full size quilt and my Scrappy Project Planner by Lori Holt to record all the information. The Swoon 16 is the first project in my planner.

Before I left home, I narrowed my red and green fabrics to 20, 10 red, 10 green.

img_2651-2

There will be a lot of cutting and catching up when we get home later this week, but I’ll have a plan.

I also finished piecing two Blocks on Go.

img_2664

The one on the left is number 48 and I finished it on the drive from Georgia and the right one is number 49, finished yesterday while it was snowing. I hope to finish 51 today. It is very cold and I don’t think we will be getting out too much today.

From what I’ve seen on IG, most of the country has had some kind of snow, so I hope you enjoy some good sewing and quilting time wherever you are. Thanks for stopping by.

Brenda

This entry was posted in 2017 Swoon Along, Blocks on the Go, for Quilts that Grow, The New Hexagon, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Quick Update

  1. curlyquilts says:

    those reds and greens look so pretty with each other. Can’t wait to see how it comes together.

    Like

  2. Lydia says:

    That’s going to be so pretty. With your careful planning I can see why your quilts always turn out so lovely. We just got ice and a very light dusting of snow here in Dunwoody. The areas to the north got a bit more snow along with the ice. Most people were smart and stayed off the roads this time. Have a safe trip.

    Like

Leave a Reply

