Something New and Plenty of Old

Hello Everyone! I hope you’ve had a great start to the new year. I’ve started something new and have been working on a few WIPs.

To start, I’ve decided to participate in the #swoonalong on Instagram, hosted by Camille of thimbswoon16le blossoms. I’m going to make the Swoon Sixteen using my red and green fabrics that I’ve been collecting. I hadn’t planned on starting my red and green quilt so soon (see 2017 plans here), but this came up and I thought this would be perfect for these fabrics. You can join in by following Camille on Instagram and choosing one of the swoon patterns. She is selling the patterns in her shop this week for $5. I made the mini swoon last spring so thought I would go for one of the larger quilts.

 

 

These are my fabrics:

img_2638

Most are Bonnie and Camille fabrics from different lines, but there are a few from Sweetwater, Basic Grey and Pat Sloan mixed in. My LQS is having a 20% off sale this week on all fabric, so great timing to buy the sashing and background fabric.

img_2648-2

I ended up with the Paper White Moda Grunge. I think this will look great and give the quilt a little texture in the background fabric.

Another new project I plan to participate in is Sherry’s new Quilting Life Block of the Month.

dscn5773

Sherry’s first block

Sherry is offering directions in two sizes, a 12″ block and a 6″ block. I think I’m going to be making the 6″ version. I have not decided on any fabrics yet. I think I’ll decide on colors and pull from my stash. Check out Sherry’s website and join in.

Now for my WIPs:

img_2646-2

I want to finish my son’s blocks for the Disappearing 4-patch in the next day or two. These are all I have left. I want to put the school logo on the quilt, so I’m going to get a t-shirt, cut it out and applique it to a block before I start putting rows together.

Next, I have all my hexies cut out for the Blocks on the  Go for Quilts that Grow.

img_2644

These are the last 5 and I would like to get them all finished and appliqued to the background by the end of the month. This is a quilt I would like to get finished by the end of February.

For January’s Minis and More, Sherry and Michelle have decided to encourage us to finish a WIP (or UFO). I think both the Disappearing 4-patch and Blocks on the Go will be too big for me to finish. So I decided mine would be this little wall hanging that I started this summer from a kit.

img_2643-2

All it needs is quilting. I plan on doing some FMQ around the campers and the background. I had hoped to finish it before we camped, but that didn’t happen. The challenge to get something finished has pushed this to the front of the line instead of lingering until whenever. If you want to participate in the Minis and More, take a before picture to send to Sherry or Michelle. This month we’ll be showing the before picture and the completed picture.

We are going to be traveling this weekend and the beginning of next week which is a perfect time to work on the hexies. As of now, they are calling for snow here on Friday and Saturday, and in Virginia on Saturday. Hopefully I’ll get to see a little bit somewhere.

Hope you have a great rest of the week and weekend. Thanks for stopping by.

Brenda

This entry was posted in Blocks on the Go, for Quilts that Grow, Minis and More, The New Hexagon, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Something New and Plenty of Old

  1. Lydia says:

    I love the camper fabric! Can’t wait to see how the red and green turn out. You are off to a good start for 2017.

    Like

Leave a Reply

