New Things for the New Year

new-year

Hello Everyone! I hope that each of you has a creative, productive and delightful 2017. I also want to thank you for sharing my quilting, creative and travel journey with me this past year. In one week, I will have reached my one year anniversary for this blog. This has been a great way to record my quilting activities and has opened up some new opportunities for me.

If you been following along for a little while, you know that I was a featured blogger for Jacquelynne Steves Maggie’s First Dance Free BOM. Jacquelynne has now started an Art of Home Club. I am honored that she asked me to be a sample maker for her club projects. I’ve already started on a project for later this year.

img_2617

The Club will be open for enrollment Jan 11-14. You can sign up here to get email notifications when the club opens. There is a minimal monthly fee, but you will be getting new patterns each month and a variety of ways to use them, including non-sewing projects. There are also tutorials, so if you’ve never appliqued or embroidered before, there will be help. Jacquelynne just added a Message Board so you have a place to interact with other members. I hope you sign up. My snowman pillow embroidery is a combination of two club designs. The pillow pattern is by Sherri McConnell of A Quilting Life.

img_2461-2

Now on to 2016 review and 2017 planning:

Last week I did a review of my 2016 projects. Without the blog, I would have missed a few.

I did many more things than I thought I did. Some were small that only took a couple of hours, then there were others that took months. There’s a total of 91 items. I listed each block for Blocks on the Go for Quilts that Grow as one item because each one took between 6-8 hours to complete and are mini quilts by themselves.2016-11-14-15-14-55

I have 47 out of 52 complete. The last 5 blocks are at the top of my list to finish in January. We’ll be doing some traveling, so I need something to work on in the car.

I already have my plan for sewing these together (not by hand) and quilting them.

The 2016 list doesn’t include UFO’s so I made a list of those, too, along with a list of new projects I would like to complete this year.

img_2630

Can you tell I like to make lists. I’m already thinking about adding something new to the list.

For the past three years, I’ve been keeping  project pages for most of the things I work on. I used Lori Kennedy’s, of The Inbox Jaunt, Quilt Notebook tips to create my pages. It’s a nice way to keep records of fabric and how much time you spent on a project. I’ve also been able to go back and refer to my project notes on things that I’ve repeated.

IMG_1674

This is the Mini Linked page. Since I changed the pattern layout slightly, I needed to do some recalculations. It also helps to draw the layout or the block design. I don’t always make a project page, but I try. The one bad thing I don’t do is include a finished photo. I had someone ask me recently if they could see pictures my quilts. I have lots of pictures, but not in one place. Printing out pictures is on my list of things to do this year.

img_2634

The nice thing about this system is that I can add pages as I need them, but the notebook  is almost full, so I thought I might try something new.

After seeing the Scrappy Project Planner by Lori Holt, I thought I would try it. It has a page for every project, but it also has a Weekly Planner that I’ll be using to list my sewing and quilting tasks that need to be done. I have a quilting section in my household planner, but I’ve been using that more as a diary of what I actually worked on that day. Since I haven’t started a new project yet, it’s still empty, just waiting…that won’t last long. I have lots of ideas in my head.

This year, I would like to create a few designs of my own, maybe even open an Etsy shop for patterns. I have a few already written for bags, just need to learn how to take my handwritten patterns to the computer.

To help me along, I purchased this notebook from Plum Paper during their cyber Monday sale. I use their planner for my household planner. I have already sketched out a few ideas.

So stay tuned, I hope to have a very creative and productive year and will enjoy sharing it with all of you. Thanks for stopping by.

Brenda

This entry was posted in organization, Planning, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Things for the New Year

  1. curlyquilts says:

    Thank you for sharing the link to the Quilt Notebook set up page. I had recently started something similar with my new projects but this is very in depth and I will start using it for my next project

    Like

  2. Lydia says:

    How exciting, can’t wait to see what you come up with for this year. I hope to tackle my sewing table today and get myself organized for 2017. I need to desperately finish what’s in my WIP bin. Happy New Year!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Something New and Plenty of Old | The Quilting Nook

Leave a Reply

