Christmas Show and Tell

Hello Everyone! I hope you had a very Merry Christmas and are still enjoying your holidays. It’s going to be quiet here for the next few days, my daughter and father-in-law are gone, and my son and husband are working. Perfect time to get some sewing done, but some of the time will be spent putting away Christmas decorations. It’s always fun to decorate, but I’m usually ready to get the house back to normal shortly after Christmas. I may keep some of my Christmas quilts up a little longer though, I like looking at them.

Since all my secret sewing has been gifted, I can show and tell now. First up is the Adventure Pillow I made for my daughter.

img_2592-2

I designed this with her love for adventure and the Pacific Northwest in mind. When I saw Amy Ellis’s (Amy’s Creative Side) fabric Adventure for Moda, I knew I had to make something for her with it. When I showed it to my daughter, she wanted something made from it, too. The background is a Moda Grunge.

img_2594-2

The embroidered piece is her own personal logo designed by graphic designer MR Hearn Visuals. I fussy cut the green fabric so the quotes were in the border.

img_2503

Well, I didn’t actually cut them, I tore them to make sure they were straight.

img_2504

I cut the trees from a charm pack and machine appliqued them to the background. This was also part of the quilting. The only other quilting is in the ditch around the embroidery.

img_2595-2

I used the envelope method for the pillow back. The pillow is 16″ x 16″ and I used a pillow insert.

img_2601-2

My daughter is already back at school for swim practice so here it is on her bed. Looks great with her adventure wall.

My next bit of secret sewing was making three Sew Together Bags by Sew Demented for my quilty friends.

img_2545-2

img_2542-2

Most of the fabrics are Volume II by Sweetwater for Moda. These are great bags to carry your handwork in.

I also made a bag for my mother, but I forgot to get a picture of it before I shipped it to her early in December. I made one for me, too, so I’ll show you mine.

img_2607

This is an Easy Zippered Box Pouch that we made at a retreat at my LQS. They gave us the directions at the retreat, but no designer information came with it.

img_2605

My lining fabric is the outside fabric of her pouch and she has my outside fabric as her lining. I keep my cords and mouse for my laptop in mine. It could also be used for toiletries, makeup, and sewing tools.

I’ve been planning some upcoming things for 2017 that I’ll be sharing soon. This is a great time of year to plan and get reorganized. Thanks for stopping by.

Brenda

 

 

 

This entry was posted in applique, Bags and Tote Bags, embroidery, Pillows, Stitchery, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas Show and Tell

  1. Lydia says:

    I love the pillow and the fabric you used for your bag [and your Mom’s]. I totally love my zippered bag. Can’t wait to see what you do in 2017, I need some serious inspiration.

    Like

  2. The pillow is amazing. I like the bags. They look fun and useful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

