Christmas Quilting

 

img_2451

Hello Everyone! I hope you had a Happy Thanksgiving. We had a quiet, but nice and filling one. Now it’s time to think about decorating for Christmas. One of my favorite parts is displaying my Christmas quilts, wall hangings and table toppers.

I recently finished my Swirl Quilt that I started at my LQS’s Fall Retreat.

img_2438-2

The pattern is by Applique elementz. The tree pieces were already cut with the fusible applied. I fused the pieces down, then added the borders. The size is approximately 25″ x 28″.

img_2439

I waited to sew the applique pieces down as part of the free motion quilting. You could also use your walking foot to sew them down. I forgot to do the red berries and went back and did the circles with my walking foot.

img_2443

The red border is an inch wide, so I used the walking foot to sew 1/4″ inside the seam lines then used a decorative stitch on my machine for the little swirl.

img_2444

The quilting on the outside border was something new I wanted to try.  I used my free motion foot, but I marked the circles with an air erasable pen. I liked the way it turned out and will probably be using this design again.

I plan on hanging a small tree quilt in each of the bedrooms this year. Thanks for stopping by and have a great rest of your holiday.

Brenda

This entry was posted in applique, Christmas Sewing, FMQ, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas Quilting

  1. Lydia says:

    This looks great!

    Like

  2. Pingback: A Little This and That | The Quilting Nook

Leave a Reply

