Christmas Placemats Tutorial

Hello everyone! I hope you’ve had a good week. I was finally able to get outside and do a good cleanup of my flower beds. They needed it desperately. It’s been so warm this fall that some of my summer annuals were still going strong, but I ripped them out anyway. Soon it’s going to be time for some outdoor Christmas decorations. I’ve also been doing some Christmas sewing for the inside.

I wanted to show you how to make the very easy placemats that I made at last week’s quilting retreat. This is my own design and first tutorial. I hope you enjoy it.

img_2418-2

The fabric is Juniper Berry by BasicGrey for Moda and I quilted it with Aurifil 50 wt thread. I used a few fat quarters and a layer cake and made the large square different in each placemat. I used the same 4 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ squares in each placemat and 2 different sets of bottom rectangles. This would also be be a great way to use up jelly roll strips or scraps.

img_2394-2

Fabric requirements for 4 placemats:

  • 1/3 yd focus fabric or 4 different 8 1/2″ x 8 1/2″ squares
  • 10 assorted 2 1/2″ x 20″ strips
  • 1 yd for backing
  • 1 yd batting
  • 1/2 yd for 2 1/4″ binding,  5/8 yd for 2 1/2″ binding
img_2426-2

We’ll use this diagram for fabric pieces and placement. (The dotted lines are the quilting lines)

Cutting for 4 placemats:

  • 4 – 8 1/2″ x 8 1/2″ squares from focus fabric
  • 1 – 2 1/2″ x  20″ strip from a, b, c, d, e, f , g and h
  • 4 – 2 1/2″ x 16 1/2″ strip from i and j
  • 4 – 14 1/2″ x 18 1/2″ rectangles for backing and batting
  • 7 – 2 1/4″ or 2 1/2″ x WOF for binding strips

Piecing:

  • Sew a to b
  • Sew c to d
  • Sew e to f
  • Sew g to h
  • Press to the dark side
  • Cut into 4- 4 1/2″ squares. You’ll have 4 sets of 4.

img_2367

  • Sew ab to cd and ef to gh.
  • Press the center seam of abcd to the right and the center seam of efgh to the left so they are in opposite directions. This is the only seam that is nested.

 

img_2370

  • Sew abcd to efgh. Press. You should have an 8 1/2″ x 8 1/2″ square.

img_2371

  • Sew your focus square to your abcdefgh square. Press to the focus square
  • Sew to j. Press to the dark side.

img_2372

  • Sew ij  to focus group. Press to ij.

img_2373

Now you have 4 placemat tops just like that.

Next: Layer your backing, batting and top and baste using your favorite method. I usually spray baste, even on small projects, but because I was at the retreat, I pin basted.

img_2398-3

First I quilted in the ditch using the triple stitch on my machine, then I went back and quilted at one inch intervals using the triple stitch.

For the binding, I sewed all the strips together first. Then I used what I needed for each placemat as I went along.

The placemats were very easy and quick to make. I cut the fabric before the retreat, but I made the top, binding and got them quilted in one day. I added the binding and finished them up this week.

img_2421-3

You can see each of the focus fabrics that I used here. Juniper Berry is such a fun line. They are going to look great with my Christmas dishes during the holidays.

img_2423-3

I hope you enjoyed my first tutorial and will send me pictures if you make your own set of fun placemats. Thanks for stopping by.

Brenda

 

This entry was posted in Christmas Sewing, Tutorials, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Christmas Placemats Tutorial

  1. This will be great for my kids. Thank you for your tutorial.

    Like

  2. Lydia says:

    I’ll put these on my “to do” list, hopefully your tutorial will still be accessible when I finally get around to these!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Some Christmas Sewing and Other Things | The Quilting Nook

Leave a Reply

