Fall Quilting Retreat

Hello Everyone! I’ve spent the last three days at a quilt retreat at Cottontail Quilts, one of our LQS. I met some new people and caught up with others from past retreats, had lots of fun, and started some new projects.

Before I show you what I made, I would like to thank everyone for their kind words about my quilts from Maggie’s First Dance Final Month. You have until tonight, November 14 at 11:59 to leave a comment in order to win the Clearly Perfect Angles Packet.

Since the retreat is local, we leave our things overnight and go home each day. That’s especially nice if you forget something.

img_2366Here I am, all packed and ready to go. I carry my machine, rulers and cutting boards in the sewing machine case. The large gray bag is my extension table for the machine. I take my own chair, cushion and platform (brown wood piece) for my feet. The snowman bag has all my tools and projects. It came home much fuller than when I left. The shop owner runs specials just for the retreaters. It’s hard to resist 15%-25% off flannels, Moda, batiks, Christmas… you get the idea. I was able to restock some Moda Grunge and Bella Solids and I picked up some flannel for a couple of quilt backs I plan to make soon.

I try to precut my fabric for projects before I get there so I can get more done. The first project I worked on were place mats for Christmas.

img_2394-2

img_2398-2

I only put the binding on one because I wanted to move on. The fabric is Juniper Berry by BasicGrey for Moda. This is my own design and I’ll be doing a tutorial later this week on how to make them. I used the triple stitch on my machine and Aurifil 50 wt to quilt them.

img_2384-2

There were four of us working on projects with Juniper Berry. Julie made a Fold’n Stitch Wreath, Trish made a quilt from a kit the shop was selling and that’s me with my place mats. Diana was making the same quilt as Trish, but didn’t have her top finished when we took the picture. They were my table mates and we had lots of fun.

Next up for me was a swirly Christmas tree applique.

img_2401-2

The pattern is by Applique elementz. The tree pieces came with the pattern and are precut with the fusible already applied. Just press into place on your background fabric, applique using your favorite method and quilt. I fused the tree, added my borders, batting and backing,then FMQ the edges of the tree pieces in matching thread. I started the quilting, but had one more project I wanted to complete so only did a little bit.

img_2381

Next project is for November’s Minis and More. The free pattern is Scrappy Pillow Tutorial by Sherri from A Quilting Life. Instead of the scrappy center, I embroidered the center using a design by Jacquelynne Steves. The snowman is from her new Everything Patterns Ebook and the framing piece is from October’s Art of Home Club patterns. If you didn’t sign up for either one, you’ll have a chance to at the beginning of the new year. The fabrics are all from Holly Talyor, the current Town Square and some of her past lines.

The shop does a make and take everyday, too. I only took time to do one, but I hope it comes in “handy.”

img_2378

It’s a pot handle cover. Sometimes you start cooking something on the stove top, but then need to pop it in the oven to finish it off. When you take the pan out of the oven, you can stick this cover on so you don’t forget the handle is hot and touch it. (Am I the only one who has done that?  I doubt it!) It has Insulbrite on the inside and took less than 30 minutes to make. Great little gadget.

I also started cutting out November’s Blocks on the Go for Quilts that Grow. Right now I’m caught up. All of October’s are finished.

They are Number 40, which isn’t pieced the same because I fussy cut the green and liked the design, Number 41, which I should have rotated differently for the picture, and Numbers 42 and 43. Only 9 left. Yeah! It’s been a fun project, but I probably spend about 5 hours on each block.

I hope you enjoyed my retreat projects. Thanks for stopping by!

Brenda

This entry was posted in applique, Blocks on the Go, for Quilts that Grow, Christmas Sewing, embroidery, FMQ, minis, Minis and More, Stitchery, The New Hexagon, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fall Quilting Retreat

  1. Lydia S says:

    Well done- you certainly were productive. Love the swirly tree!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Christmas Placemats Tutorial | The Quilting Nook

Leave a Reply

