August Minis and More and a Finish-A-Long

2014a-20162bbutton2b2502bbest2b150 Hello everyone, happy Thursday and 1st of September. It’s hard to believe that August is behind us and that technically fall is almost here. I hope we see some cooler temps soon. Since it’s the first of the month, I have my finish for the Minis and More Parade hosted by Sherri and Michele. It’s also my 4th finish for the 2016 Finish-A-Long, 3rd Quarter. You can find my Q3 list here.

 

IMG_1848 (2)This month’s mini is Handmade Mini by  Camille Roskelley of Thimble Blossoms.

My fabrics are mostly Calico Days by Lori Holt for Riley Blake. The yellow gingham is Ambleside by Brenda Riddle for Moda. The blue check and blue dot are from my stash.

Even though there were lots of little pieces (120 1″ squares):

IMG_1801

the mini went together easily. I have started using Sherri’s tip and use starch on these little pieces. It does help make it more accurate when I’m sewing to have them slightly stiff. I use Mary Ellen’s Best Press.

IMG_1851 (2)Before quilting, I did the embroidery. The blue is a Weeks Dye Work floss and the green is a DMC floss. I used 3 strands of each to back stitch the words.

Since the fabrics have that nice vintage look to them, I thought hand quilting was in order. The quilting is a semi big stitch using 3-strands of a Weeks Dye Works variegated green.

IMG_1827 (3)I marked my embroidery and quilting lines with a blue disappearing pen. It all washed out and gave the mini a nice old fashioned look to it once it was dry.

IMG_1848 (3)

IMG_1848 (2)

I really had fun making this one. I hope you decide to join us for September’s mini. Visit  Sherri and Michele to see the rest of the parade and see what this month’s mini will be.

Thanks for stopping by!

Brenda

 

 

This entry was posted in 2016 Finish Along, embroidery, minis, Minis and More, Stitchery, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to August Minis and More and a Finish-A-Long

  1. This is really cute. I may have to give it a try. Thank you.

    Like

  2. Lydia says:

    120 1″ square-goodness! Thanks for the tip about the starch-good to know. I love the color combination of this mini.

    Like

  3. Estefania says:

    Love the project and the colors you used!!

    Like

  4. So cute! I love it! Thank you for participating in the FAL, on behalf of the 2016 global FAL hosts

    Like

Leave a Reply

