Workshop Fun

Hello everyone! Hope you are having a great week. It’s been busy here. We’ve been getting things ready for my daughter who starts school next week in Pensacola. She’s going to move into an apartment and we are leaving tomorrow to help her move in. I took Monday for me though, to attend a my first workshop. It was presented by my guild, The Silver Comet Stitchers. Guess who the instructor was?

IMG_1789 (2)

The wonderful Pat Sloan; pattern and fabric designer, instructor, author, blogger and pod cast host. She is also one of the hosts for the The Splendid Sampler. Visit her website for all kinds of fun things. She blogs, hosts quilt alongs, has tutorials and lots of other goodies. Check it out if you haven’t visited it before.

The workshop was called Trash Bag Quilts. She taught a technique of taking scraps and leftover fabric to make new fabric. You can see the quilts behind her all have blocks using this technique.

IMG_1787 (2)

As I’ve said before, fall is one of my favorite quilting themes so I have lots of fall fabrics. I had fun putting some fabrics together out of my stash. I used up the last of the green leaf print and the maroon leaf print. The technique is not about throwing everything you have together, but controlling it. If you get a chance, take the workshop to learn all about it.

The blocks we made in the workshop were a star and a log cabin.

IMG_1794 (2)

This is my finished star. I found that I had fun putting the fabrics together to make something else. I plan on making two more star blocks, then making a table runner. I hope to have it finished sometime in September.

IMG_1791 (2)

These are the blocks by the group. You can see how different they all are and they all look great. Some used the made fabrics everywhere in the star, others did what I did and had a single fabric in the square points. I did made the log cabin block, but didn’t use it during the workshop. The ones with the cross in them are the log cabins. Not what you expected is it.

IMG_1792 (2)

You can see the log cabin quilt behind Pat. I had a great time and learned something new. I also have several ideas on using this technique so stay tuned to see if they turn up.

Pat also gave a talk at the guild meeting that night. Like me, she started out in the computer world. She took her love of quilting and designing to the next level and made it a very successful career.  Pat’s fabric Hometown Girl for Moda is what Jacquelynne Steves used for Maggie’s First Dance BOM.

IMG_1663 (2)

I’m using it for my hand appliqued version. The next block will be out on September 5. Be sure to check it out then.

Summer Starburst (3)

I also made this mini a few years ago using some fat quarters and a mini charm pack of Pat’s fabric One for You, One for Me (with a few other fabrics thrown in). Pat has such a fun style. The pattern is Summer Star Mini by Sherri McConnell.

Hope you enjoyed the workshop recap. Thanks for stopping by.

Brenda

 

This entry was posted in New Techniques, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Workshop Fun

  1. lapappstore says:

    I love it……you doing scrappy!!! “Controlled” Scrappy……but scrappy none the less. I love the way your block turned out…..can’t wait to see the finished table runner!

    Like

  2. I have a tote full of scraps that I now know what I am going to do with them. I need to get a table out and make a list of all the things I want to make. LOL. I have to finish a few things first. I love the star block.

    Like

  3. Lydia S says:

    I am going to have to check out her fabrics-so cute!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Maggie’s First Dance BOM, Block 4 | The Quilting Nook

  5. Anita Jackson says:

    Thank you for sharing~ I love Pat’s designs and ideas! Your star is definitely one of my favorites as Autumn and it’s splendor is my favorite of all seasons!

    Like

Leave a Reply

