Winners and This and That

Hello everyone! Hope you’ve had a good week so far. I’ve been busy with a lot of different things this week. First though, I want to let you know who the winners are for Maggie’s First Dance prize, the Modified Tree table runner and fabric kit and the Lap App.

August-Giveaway-EvaPaigeKit

Julie won this great prize from EvaPaige Quilt Designs. I hope you enjoy making it. About 75% who commented preferred a more modern style tree even if their overall quilting tastes were more traditional. That’s how I am. I like the swirly type of trees even though I prefer more traditional style blocks over the more modern look.

 

 

lapapp-1

The winner for the Lap App is Nicole. I hope you enjoy it Nicole. Thanks to all who left comments and are now following Joyce on Instagram. Some of your comments made me want to be able to give more than one away. If you would like to purchase one for yourself, you can find them at The Lap App StoreNancy’s Notions, and Paper Pieces.

Just so you know, I randomly choose winners by putting numbers in a container and drawing one out. I then scroll through the comments, starting with the first, and count until I reach the drawn number.

This week, I’ve been working on several things.

IMG_1629 (2)

First up, I finished some more 4-patch blocks for Jake’s Disappearing 4-patch. I’ve been doing these in between working on other things.

IMG_1715

I decided to go with Calico Days Fabrics by Lori Holt for this months Minis and More hosted by  Sherri and Michele. I’m adding a few extra fabrics to round it out. The pattern is IMG_1726Handmade Mini by Thimble Blossoms. I planned out which fabrics were going where a few days ago and hope to get it cut out today. Not to late to get started!

 

 

 

 

I also got July’s Blocks on the Go for Quilts that Grow fabrics picked out and glued to their papers. At night while watching the Olympics, I’ve gotten most of June’s appliqued to the background.

IMG_1755

 

Starting at the top, they are number 20, 21, 23, 25 and 26.  I still have 22 and 24 to applique to the background. I hope to get all of July’s finished plus two from August, then do the other 2 for August and September’s in September. I was keeping up until I let them until this summer.

 

One last thing from this week:

IMG_1751 (2)

I made these coasters for my daughter to take back to school. She picked out the mini charm squares for the top two, then saw some half square triangles I had taken out of Maggie’s Dance Block 3 and started playing with them. She decided she wanted coasters out of those too. The top fabric is Valley and the bottom is Sun Bright, both by Sherri and Chelsie for Moda. I used charm squares from Bright Sun for the backing.

That’s it for now. I’m going to go cut fabric. Thanks for stopping by.

Brenda

 

This entry was posted in Blocks on the Go, for Quilts that Grow, Lap App, Maggie's First Dance, Minis and More, The New Hexagon, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winners and This and That

  1. Lydia S says:

    I love those birds-you’re still way ahead of me for the hexigons-hopefully this weekend I can make some progress. I did manage to cut the pieces for my soon-to-be-born great nephew’s quilt. I really need to get that put together.

    Like

  2. theresabradley12 says:

    I was in the cottontail retreat with you and Karen who was also in there wanted to talk with you about wool applique.  Can you email her at kgilbreath@gsu.edu ?Thanks,Theresa Bradley 

    Sent from my Verizon, Samsung Galaxy smartphone

    Like

Leave a Reply

