Weekend Update

Hello everyone! Hope you’ve had a good weekend so far. I wanted to remind you that today is the last day to leave a comment to win the EvaPaige Quilt Designs Christmas Tree table runner and fabric kit here or the Lap App from the Lap App Store here. I’ll announce the winners later this week.

I have a few things to show that I’ve been working on this week. I thought it was a good time to switch gears a little bit and I finished my skirt that is on my 2016 FAL list.

IMG_1549

 

No pictures yet, but I hope to take some later today.

 

 

 

 

 

I also started working on the top that was on my list.

Everything was finished to the point that I could try it on and see how the fit was. The size was right, but something about the cut of the top bothered me. I set it aside for a day and tried it on again. My son saw it on me and said it looked like a doctor’s smock. I had just been thinking the same thing. The neckline is very high and I’m not sure I would like it even in a different fabric that would drape better. I decided to stop working on it, no use making something that I probably won’t wear.  I’m going to take it apart and use the fabric for something else.

I started July’s stitchery for “a year in the garden” by Jenny of Elefantz.

IMG_1732

I finished the embroidery last night while watching the Olympics. It should be a great two weeks for handwork. Now I have to prep the embroidery piece, finish the edges and quilt it.

IMG_1731 (3)

I finished both blocks for Maggie’s First Dance BOM  Block 4 by Jacquelynne Steves. I was sewing the pieces together for the embroidered version and wasn’t sure I liked the fabric combo that I had chosen. Does that ever happen to you?  Be sure to check in again on the first Monday of September to see which fabric I went went with.

This week I have something new to work on.  The Minis and More (hosted by Sherri and Michele) project for August is

IMG_1726

I had just purchased this pattern at the end of July when Thimble Blossoms was having a sale on all her PDF patterns.

I have three fabric choices picked out:

The first is Calico Days by Lori Holt, the next is Prairie by Cory Yoder with the Ambleside gingham by brenda riddle designs, or some Strawberry Fields Revisited by Fig Tree and Co. I’ll have to add to the Prairie, so that may be out. I also have a mini charm pack of the Strawberry Fields so I’ll have more options to go with there. I’ll have to decide soon so I can get started on it.

evapaige-ad1This week I also signed up for the Teal Mini Swap. It’s a fundraiser for Ovarian Cancer Research. You have until the August 29th to sign up.You’ll get your swap partner and fabric by September 2 and have until September 30 to mail your finished mini or mug rug to your partner.  Please consider doing this for a worthy cause. You can find out more information here.

Well that’s it for now. Thanks for stopping by.

Brenda

This entry was posted in A Year in the Garden Embroidery, Fashion Sewing, Maggie's First Dance, Minis and More, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weekend Update

  1. You have really been busy. There are some days that I like a pattern and fabric for something, then I change my mind. I have gotten where I set the pattern and fabric aside and then look at it in a day or 2. If I still like it then I make it. I love the embroidery.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Q3 Finish-A-Long Number 2 | The Quilting Nook

  3. Lydia S says:

    I like the calico days on the end. I think I have enough fabric that I as going to use for something else that I may do the Maggie’s 1st Dance project. I bought it a long time ago, so we’ll see.

    Like

Leave a Reply

