Maggie’s First Dance Free BOM, Block 3

Welcome everyone, to the Block 3 blog hop for Maggie’s First Dance Free BOM by Jacquelynne Steves. It’s not too late so go here to sign up. This month’s sponsor is EvaPaige Quilt Designs and we’re giving away this awesome “Mod-ified Trees” pattern and fabric kit. Read through the entire post to see how you can have a chance to win.

August-Giveaway-EvaPaigeKit

Now onto this month’s block. I have to tell you, it is my favorite one. Here is my embroidered version…

IMG_1652 (2)

If this is your first visit, the fabrics are Bright Sun by Sherri and Chelsi for Moda.

IMG_1657 (2)

I used Jacquelynne’s Note Cards to Color for inspiration for adding just a bit extra to the embroidery design.

IMG_1660 (3)

I used a backstitch for the motif design and added a running stitch inside the flower centers. The dark coral balls were made with a french knot. I think this is just such a happy flower.

IMG_1650 (2)

Here are all three blocks together. I can’t wait to get the 4th block and setting blocks done.

I’m also doing a hand applique version out of the kit that I won from Jacquelynne for last year’s free BOM.

IMG_1663 (2)

That is still a happy flower no matter how it’s done!

Since I do a lot of hand work, I wanted to show you a product that really helps keep my hands, arms and shoulders from getting tired. If you follow me on Instagram, you have seen me reference it with some of my handwork.

It’s called the Lap App and was designed by my quilty friend, Joyce Haskins. For more information, go here.

Photos courteous of The Lap App Store

The Lap App has a place to put your spool of thread, scissors and a magnet to hold your needles. It also comes with a sand paper tracing and marking surface and an ironing cover. It also has two star wheels to make adjustments just for you.

IMG_1700 (2)

This is mine and I keep some Clover clips, a thimblpad (usually have a couple because I lose them),and an assortment of needles (top right corner) right there within reach.

I use mine to rest my hands on for embroidery, hand applique and English paper piecing. I’ve taken it to the beach, the pool, on the porch and I use it in the car when we travel. It also fits nicely into a moderate size tote bag.

Joyce makes all the covers and puts them together. The wood is birch and pine and is handcrafted in South Carolina.

Joyce is going to give a Lap App to one my readers. Please note, the other bloggers for Maggie’s Dance are not involved with this giveaway.  For your chance to win and to find out where you can purchase one for yourself, go here.

Now for your chance to win the “Mod-ified Trees” pattern and Fabric Kit by EvaPaige Quilt Designs…

August-Giveaway-EvaPaigeKit

leave me a comment by 11:59 PM on August 7 to tell me if you prefer a modern style Christmas tree pattern or a more traditional style. I really like this tree design and think it would fit very nicely with my Christmas decor.

Make sure you visit all the other bloggers and leave a comment for your chance to win and see all the creative goodness that is going on with Maggie’s third block.

http://greydogwoodstudio.com

https://farmhousequiltsblog.wordpress.com

http://thecraftyquilter.com

http://www.evapaigequiltdesigns.blogspot.com

http://gogokim.blogspot.com

http://lilypadquilting.blogspot.com

https://thequiltingnook.wordpress.com  (That’s me)

It’s always so interesting to see how everyone completes their blocks, so be sure to share your completed blocks at the following places:

I also wanted to tell you about a Teal Mini Swap that is benefiting Ovarian Cancer research.

evapaige-ad1

It is being hosted and organized by Beth from EvaPaige Quilt Designs. You can find out more information about how the swap is organized here . She also has a Facebook page where you can find all the details and register . I hope you take the time to check this out for a worthy cause.

Thanks for sticking with me to the end. I hope you have fun making this months block!

Brenda

This entry was posted in applique, embroidery, Lap App, Maggie's First Dance, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

121 Responses to Maggie’s First Dance Free BOM, Block 3

  1. Linda Ward says:

    I’m ready for something new!! Love the fresh look–I have many “traditional” Christmas decorations; would love to win this! Thanks for the chance!

    Like

  2. Cecilia says:

    I like some of the more modern patterns, especially this one. Thanks for sharing your block, it is beautiful.

    Like

  3. Rhonda says:

    Love the modern tree!!

    Like

  4. Becky says:

    I love the look of both…just depends on the year. I love this pattern. Looks fun!

    Like

  5. Kat T says:

    Love the modern style of tree! Seem to be moving towards a more modern look the last couple of years…

    Like

  6. lganme says:

    Love the traditional designs. I’m an ole fashioned kinda gal.

    Like

  7. Karen E. says:

    I prefer traditional, but I am loving this contemporary design. It is very light and airy. Refreshing.

    Like

  8. Generally I prefer a more traditional style of Christmas tree but I must admit that I have seen several more modern trees this year that I think are adorable… maybe you can teach an old dog a new trick! 😉

    Like

  9. Nicole Sender says:

    I prefer traditional but this Christmas tree is so nice! Maybe I can change my mind!

    Like

  10. nancy in IN says:

    Modern tree design is nice, but I like the traditional one. This will look good on table.

    Like

  11. Kathryn Phillips says:

    I like both modern and traditional designs. I think as long as I get the “feel” of Christmas, I’m ok with it.

    Like

  12. Sandy R. says:

    I like the look of the Modern tree.

    Like

  13. christie rhinehart says:

    love these blocks

    Like

  14. Sobana sundar says:

    The modern style looks lovely. Would never have thought of it.

    Like

  15. Joanna says:

    I like mostly classic styles of anything. Your embroidery is sweet; I like the way you are embellishing the flower.

    Like

  16. SheilaC says:

    I tend to like more traditional, but I do really like this particular pattern!

    Like

  17. Shelley Walling says:

    I always go for the traditional!

    Like

  18. Pingback: Weekend Update | The Quilting Nook

  19. Lauri Miller says:

    I like a mix of traditional and new!

    Like

  20. Colleen Thomas says:

    Love traditional with a spin of modern to it.
    Love colors, love brights!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

