Traveling and A Little Quilting

Hello everyone, I hope you had a nice week and weekend. We were traveling this past week and had a great time and I was able to get some hand sewing done, too.

Thermoweb-GiveawayFirst up, we have a winner for the Thermoweb giveaway. Congratulations to Debbie from the Pacific North West where the temperatures and weather are much nicer than the eastern 2/3 of the country. We vacationed there last summer and it is just beautiful.

 

 

 

Next up, I have my fabrics cut for the July Minis and More Parade hosted by Sherri and Michele.

IMG_1611 (2)

I’m using Sherri’s pattern Linked that has been converted to a mini by American Patchwork and Quilting “Quilts and More Summer 2016” magazine. I am modifying the layout just a little and using Nancy Halvorsen’s Christmas fabrics from my stash. This month’s project is to make a Christmas mini with our own pattern choice. It’s not too late to join in. Sherri and Michele are trying to increase the participation  and will start offering a prize every month, so come join us. Minis are fun to make, nice for decorating and it’s easy to get a project completed.

Now, for a peak at what I completed last week.

I completed the applique for Blocks 3 and 4 for Maggie’s First Dance BOM by Jacquelynne Steves. You can still join in the fun. Go here to sign up to start receiving you block patterns. I also finished three Blocks on the Go for Quilts that Grow centers from The New Hexagon by Katja Marik. These still need to be appliqued to the background piece. I’m way behind, one is the last one for May and two for June.

We went to Virginia to visit my mom and dad and had a great time. I did a little shopping while we were there:

IMG_1614 (2)

I bought some Valley by Sherri and Chelsi for Moda. Also a few pieces of Prairie by Cory Yoder for Moda and a new book by Gail Pan. I like all the designs in the book and some of them will make great presents.

While we were in Virginia, we did some fun things. We went to Colonial Beach on the Potomac just to do something different and have lunch. Unfortunately most places are closed on Monday so we ventured across the river into Maryland and found a place to have a seafood lunch on Cobb Island. Next, my husband got checked out in my Dad’s new airplane. He took my daughter with them that day.

It’s been a long time since any of us have flown in a small plane. A couple of days later, I went with my husband and daughter.

I sat in the back and let my daughter sit in the front and get a little flying lesson. It’s always fun to see my home town from the air and see how much it’s grown since I lived there over 30 years ago.

We also went kayaking and paddle boarding on the Rappahannock River one day.

My husband and I kayaked and Emily SUPed. I even tried the SUP for the first time. I was able to stand up and paddle around, but had a hard time turning it from a standing position. I guess I need more practice.

IMG_1593 (2)

To top the trip off, we had blue crabs for dinner on out last night. Yummy! These are a favorite.

Hope you enjoyed the travelogue. Thanks for stopping by.

This entry was posted in applique, Blocks on the Go, for Quilts that Grow, Maggie's First Dance, Minis and More, The New Hexagon, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Traveling and A Little Quilting

  1. Mary Vaughan Griffin says:

    Love your blog and your quilt making designs! Wish I could have seen you while you were in Virginia! Really enjoy your blogs! Wish you lived near me so I could take lessons! Love you! Cousin Mary Vaughan Griffin! Thanks to Donna for letting me in on this!

    Like

  2. Lydia S says:

    Looks like y’all had a great time, nothing better than a vacation where you can still get your crafting done as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

