Maggie’s First Dance BOM Block 2 and Blog Hop

IMG_1281 (2)

Happy 4th of July! 

I hope everyone is enjoying your long weekend and remembering how our great country came to be. I enjoy making patriotic quilts and have one planned for July. You can check out some of them here.

 

 

 

 

Now onto Maggie’s First Dance. This is a long post, but I have lots to show you. Make sure you read to the end to find out how you can win this month’s great prize from Thermoweb, the maker of Heat and Bond and Heat and Bond Lite. I use Heat and Bond Lite when I do buttonhole applique or machine applique. It’s a great product; easy to use and doesn’t leave your fabric feeling stiff.

These are just two of the projects I’ve used it in,  “I Believe” quilt by Nancy Halvorsen and “Revive your Soul” stitchery by Jennifer Reynolds. Both are hand appliqued with a buttonhole stitch.

This month, I was able to get my applique block finished so I have two to show you. First up is the embroidered block.

IMG_1514 (2)

I love the way the blocks have the look of the southwest desert. The fabrics are Bright Sun by Sherri and Chelsie for Moda. I like to use a lot of different fabrics in my blocks, but to keep some consistency, I’m using the same coral fabric for each block and the cornerstone yellow will be the same throughout the blocks and borders.

IMG_1515 (2)

Again, for this month’s embroidery, I took my cue from Jacquelynne’s notecards.

IMG_1518 (2)

The x-hatching in the main flower is a variegated thread. You can just make out the subtle shading. I also like to add a  running stitch to some of the elements to add a little depth. These are stitched with floss that is one shade lighter than the backstitching.

Here is the hand applique block this month.

IMG_1525 (2)

I love Jacquelynne’s whimsical design using these Hometown Girl fabrics by Pat Sloan. You might notice that I didn’t use the same color placement for the applique as Jacquelynne. I do like to change things up a just a little.

IMG_1532 (2)

 

I use Aurifil 50/2 cotton for appliqueing in colors that match or closely match the applique piece. I used the light blueish color for the blue and the white although it didn’t match exactly. It’s color number 2800 which is a great blender color. I use it a lot for free motion quilting, too.

 

 

I thought I would show you one of the processes that I use to prep my applique pieces.

  1. Sometimes I will use a wash away applique sheet to mark my designs on. There are several on the market. This is the one I used in a class when I learned this technique.
  2. These are the tools I use: the applique patterns, a thin line sharpie or pencil for light colors, for tracing the design onto the applique sheet, a glue pen, a fingernail orange stick, the Karen Kay Buckley applique scissors and paper scissors.
  3. I trace the design onto the applique sheet and use a touch of the glue pen to baste it onto the wrong side of the fabric.
  4. Next, I clip any curves or points then apply the glue pen to the edge of the applique sheet and fabric.
  5. I use the orange stick to turn the edge of the fabric over the pattern piece, carefully working around curves and points.
  6. The pieces are now ready for appliqueing. I use Roxanne’s Glue Baste to place them on the background fabric. I will wash all the blocks to remove the applique sheet and glue before I piece all the blocks together.

Now onto the good stuff. This month’s prize is provided by Thermoweb.

Thermoweb-Giveaway

It is only open to continental US residents because of the aerosols, but don’t worry, there is an alternate prize that international, Hawaii, Alaska, and all readers can enter. More in a bit.

To enter to win the Thermoweb prize, leave me a comment about where you live and what the weather is like. It has been hot in Georgia with very little rain. We’re expecting temperatures near 100 later this week.  Leave your comment by 11:59 PM on July 11 for your chance to win.

Make sure you visit all the other bloggers and leave a comment for your chance to win and see all the creative goodness that is going on with Maggie’s second block.

http://greydogwoodstudio.com

https://farmhousequiltsblog.wordpress.com

http://thecraftyquilter.com

http://www.evapaigequiltdesigns.blogspot.com

http://gogokim.blogspot.com

http://lilypadquilting.blogspot.com

https://thequiltingnook.wordpress.com  (That’s me)

Now for international, HI and AK (and all others), visit the Quilting Gallery blog for your chance to win…

MicheleFoster-starlight-prize

Four copies are going to be given away so make sure you pop on over for your chance to win. I may have to put the table runner on my list of things to do.

It’s always so interesting to see how everyone completes their blocks, so be sure to share your completed blocks at the following places:

Thanks for sticking with me to the end. I hope you have fun making this months block!

Brenda

This entry was posted in applique, embroidery, Maggie's First Dance, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

77 Responses to Maggie’s First Dance BOM Block 2 and Blog Hop

  1. Mary Baker says:

    I live in rural Virginia. It’s hot and humid this week. Thank you for all the tips on your applique process.

    Like

  2. Debbie May says:

    Hi, I live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest ! It is pretty here but its been very over cast and gray the last couple of weeks, today it is in the low 60’s. 😦

    Like

  3. Lori Smanski says:

    your projects are lovely. i live in the suburbs of Chicago, IL. the temps lately have been between 70 and 85. nice.

    Like

  4. Liz says:

    I live in Boston MA and the weather is HOT and HUMID, 2 days so far this week with 1 more to go then hopefully back to the beautiful 70’s we were enjoying!!
    Love your embroidered block and your colors!

    Like

  5. Jessica Shull says:

    San Antonio, TX and it was a whooping 101 today!

    Shull.jessica10@gmail.com

    Like

  6. Linda Hand says:

    I live in central Florida and it is sunny with a chance of afternoon rain

    Like

    • Rocky says:

      Ben tu penses, vos rn-vodezus sont les plus insolites et droles, on ne raterait pas ça quand même !! Bon je file sur FDV te lire (tu me donnes du travail de cliquage, c’est mal !!)

      Like

  7. Vicki L says:

    Here in Indiana we have been getting a mixture of weather…hot and humid, rainy, cloudy. Thanks for all your tidbits on applique. As a beginner, they are very helpful!

    Like

  8. Darrell says:

    I live in Oakland Co., Michigan and it has also been hot (in the 90s) and dry with no rain (down more than 3 inches). Grass is turning brown and some of my flower plants are dying. dhardenburg (at) prodigy (dot) net.

    Like

  9. Annette says:

    Very hot here in Port Saint Lucie Florida! Mid 90s with feel like temps up to 105!!! Staying inside and working on a few projects thanks for a chance to win!!☀️😃

    Like

  10. sewncreations says:

    I live in Phoenix where it is hot but not humid which makes it not so bad. Gives me lots of time for sewing.

    Like

  11. Lena Hussey says:

    I live in the Applegate valley of southern Oregon. the weather has been quite hot, up in the 90’s but has started to drop into the 70’s with possible rain by the weekend

    Like

  12. catskillquilter says:

    I live in northern Florida where it has been 100 degrees or higher all week. Tuesday was 104!

    Like

  13. Lori Shore says:

    I live in West Jordan, Utah and it’s been pretty hot here lately but on Sunday it won’t even reach 80 degrees, how crazy is that?

    Like

  14. Susan says:

    I live in Grand Rapids, MI and it is hot and humid.

    Like

  15. ThreadTime says:

    Looks like you have been a busy girl! I love in Louisiana and it has been hot and humid here.

    Like

  16. I live in Florence, Alabama where the temperatures has been in the upper 90’s and the heat indexes up to 106 degrees. It has been very dry this summer.

    Like

  17. Robin Klein says:

    I live along the west coast of Florida. It is HOT and HUMID. Today there is lots of thunder but no rain over my house, maybe Tampa.

    Like

  18. juditupp says:

    The weather has been very hot here in the Denver area. We’ve been getting periodic afternoon thunderstorms as well.

    Like

  19. Pingback: 2016 Finish-A-Long, Projects for 3rd Quarter | The Quilting Nook

  20. Wendy Parks says:

    I live in Michigan.It is hot and humid here and I am hoping for some rain. Your blocks are great {I also enjoy the stitchery of Jennifer Reynolds!}

    Like

  21. Karen Oetken says:

    I live in Northwest Iowa and we are expecting hot and humid weather for the weekend. I’m thinking a great time to stay indoors and sew.

    Like

  22. Janet Dulin says:

    I live in Charlotte NC and it is in the high 90’s and hot. Like an oven outside so perfect time for sewing.

    Like

  23. Cathy Wilson says:

    The temperature here in Richards, TX is only in the mid 90’s but the humidity puts the ‘feel like ‘ temp at 105!!

    Like

  24. Barb says:

    I live in Spokane, WA. It has been cool and raining this last week. Around 72.

    Like

  25. Nanna Ray says:

    Hi from Queensland, Australia. Thank you for sharing your versions of Block 2. Your embroidery block has given me some ideas to work on my block. Love the colours you have chosen. Great to be visiting each blog for inspiration.

    Like

Leave a Reply

