Art in the Garden

Hello everyone, I hope you are enjoying your 4th of July weekend. I just have a few things to share today, but I wanted to remind you that we will have Maggie’s First Dance Free BOM blog hop tomorrow. Make sure you check in after 10 AM to see everyone’s Block 2 and see how you can win this great prize package from Thermoweb.

Thermoweb-Giveaway
My husband, daughter and I visited the Atlanta Botanical Gardens for the Chihuly Exhibit last week. It is worth the visit if you are close by or if he does and exhibit close to you.

IMG_1503 (2)

Dale Chihuly uses blown glass and neon to create spectacular works of art. This is the second time it’s been displayed in Atlanta.

IMG_1485 (3)

IMG_1488 (2)

These were a favorite. We’re looking at them from the canaopy walkway.

IMG_1493 (2)

In this picture, you can see how the fern like spikes are glowing.

IMG_1498 (2).JPG

This is the Cascades Garden. So much more stunning in person.

IMG_1507 (2)

This is one my favorites in the Fuqua Orchid Center.

My husband and I plan on going back in the fall when the sun sets earlier so we can see the garden at night. We used to be members a long time ago when the kids were young, but as they got older and busier, we weren’t able to go to the gardens as often.

Just a little on the sewing front. Yesterday, I sat down to try to work on my Blocks on the Go for Quilts that Grow. I still haven’t finished May’s so I wanted to start picking out fabrics. My box of Bonnie and Camille fabrics were a mess. I was trying to keep the different fabric lines together, but that wasn’t working, so I spent Saturday afternoon folding and organizing the layer cakes and other assorted pieces. This is what I ended up with…

IMG_1534

Aren’t they pretty!! Hopefully this will make it easier to pull fabrics for each hexagon center. I’ll be working on more of them this afternoon. I was going to the pool this morning, but it’s supposed to be 90 by noon, so I think I’ll stay inside where it’s cool.

Don’t forget to check in tomorrow after 10 for the blog hop. Thanks for stopping by and hope you have a great 4th.

This entry was posted in Travel, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

