June Minis and More and Last Finish-A-Long

 

2014a-20162bbutton2b2502bbest2b150

Hello everyone! Can you believe it’s already the last day of June? The summer is flying by. This is the last day for the second quarter of the 2016 FAL and I just finished my last project yesterday. It’s Star Bright Mini by Sherri McConnell of A Quilting Life, June’s Minis and More quilt. You can find my 2nd quarter FAL list here.

 

IMG_1478 (2)

I got excited when Michele and Sherri announced that this was the mini for June because I already had the pattern. Initially, I thought that I might do this in patriotic fabrics, but I already have a patriotic kit that I plan on making next month. Then I thought stars would be great for a Christmas quilt. You cannot have too many fall or Christmas or patriotic quilts.

IMG_1480 (3).JPG

All the fabric for this mini came out of my stash, but most are Holiday Frost by Jan Shade Beach for Henry Glass Fabrics. I love this reindeer print. Too cute!! I had to get a reindeer on the front, too.

IMG_1470 (2)

After I finished the top, the white square was begging for something special. I thought a snowflake would be perfect for it. This is a snowflake that I have used several times before. It’s so old that I’m not sure where it came from. There is micro stippling outside the snowflake and little clam shells in the white spaces of the stars.

IMG_1465 (2)

To make the snowflake, I made a freezer paper template and ironed it onto the fabric. Then I carefully free motion quilted around it. This is great technique to use if you want to do a special motif.

IMG_1474 (4)

I used Aurifil 50/2 cotton 2800 for the piecing and quilting and 2250 for the binding. The batting is Quilter’s Dream Select Cotton. The quilt is 18″ x 18″.

blog20button_edited-2_zpsqlexjhe1

 

Be sure to check out the June Minis and More Parade on July 1st with  Michele and Sherri to see what everyone else did with their Star Bright Mini.

 

 

Just a reminder, the second block instructions for Maggie’s First Dance Free BOM by Jacquelynne Steves will be available on July 4th. Stop back by and see everyone’s finished block and enter for your chance to win a great prize from Thermoweb.

Thanks for stopping by.

This entry was posted in 2016 Finish Along, Minis and More, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to June Minis and More and Last Finish-A-Long

  1. Lydia S says:

    I LOVE the reindeer! The snowflake is so clever, who knew you could do that!!

    Like

  2. I love the way you stippled round the snowflake! Congratulations on the finish and thank you for participating in the 2016FAL, on behalf of all the hosts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

