This and That

I hope everyone is having a good weekend. We had some beautiful temperatures midweek but the last couple of days have been in the mid 90s. I don’t think we reached 90 last year until July.  I think we’re in for a dryer and hotter summer here in Georgia than the last few years. With these temps, it makes it easy to stay in and sew.

I’ve got a few things to show you, but first I want to remind you about…

Aurifil-Giveaway

The last day to leave a comment is Sunday, June 12 at midnight for your chance to win a box of Aurifil Thread. Make sure you comment here on this post for it to count. The winners will be announced sometime next week.

A few weeks ago, I tried my hand at some paper piecing.

IMG_1247

I need to work on getting the fabric pieces the right size, but not too bad for a first try at this scale. This block is 6 1/2″. It’s one of the Splendid Sampler blocks by Charise Randell. I’ve downloaded a few of the blocks, but this is the first one I’ve made. There may be more paper piecing in the future. Stay tuned.

I also finished two of May’s Blocks on the Go hosted by Katja’s Quilt Shoppe. The third one for May is all ready to be pieced.

IMG_1359

 

I finished free motion quilting Village by Miss Rosie’s Quilt Co. It’s March and April’s Minis and More Project. I took the advice of a long arm quilter I know, let the quilt talk to me. I quilted a lot of it with rulers. I need to bind it, then I’ll show some more details.

 

 

 

Then, I took an afternoon to make a pin cushion by Sherri McConnell from A Quilting Life and Fat Quarter Shop.

IMG_1340

This is a fast and fun pin cushion to make and it took less than 2 hours start to finish.

You can find the video tutorial here.

I finally got my fabrics cut for my dress, skirt and top. I’m going to start on the dress first. They all should be pretty simple sew. Each pattern only has 4 or 5 pieces.

I want to finish quilting my mini swoon first.

IMG_1362.JPG

This is the design for my quilting, although I think I’m going to change the background grid to something that won’t take so much time to quilt. I’m going to use Aurifil 50 thread 2110. The fabric is Bright Sun by Sherri and Chelsi for Moda. I love this fabric. Besides using it for Maggie’s First Dance, I have enough of this fabric to make a lap size quilt from a pattern by Sherri.

Thanks for stopping by. Check back soon, I should have a few finishes for the 2016 Finish-A-Long. Have a great rest of your weekend.

This entry was posted in Blocks on the Go, for Quilts that Grow, Fashion Sewing, FMQ, Free Motion Ruler Work, Maggie's First Dance, Minis and More, The New Hexagon, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This and That

  1. Lydia S says:

    Can’t wait to see the finished garments. I am finally getting the pieces together for the hexagons-so far behind!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

