Happy Memorial Day

I would like to thank all who have served or who are serving in the nation’s military and my condolences for those who have lost loved ones while serving. My husband, father and father-in-law have all served in the military. My father’s brother Junior, was lost during WWII and will always be remembered.

I’ve been getting my summer quilts out and I thought I would show you some of my patriotic quilts. I enjoy making them just like my fall quilts.

The first two depict Memorial Day the best. I made the first one for my son when he was about 10 or 11.

IMG_1272 (2)

Here’s a closeup of the fabric. Very Appropriate!

IMG_1274 (2)

Another quilt I made for my brother-in-law is also appropriate for Memorial Day.

DL026 (2)

I could only find a real photograph of this and scanned it so it’s not the best quality. The pattern is Over The River and Through the Woods from Crabapple Hill and I made it in 2008.

DL026 (4)

If you look closely, the fabric has flag images from different eras, including Iwo Jima and The World Trade Center.

The top left is Market Day by Pam Buda. I made that last year. I can’t remember the pattern of the one on the lower left, but I used a charm pack of red, white and blue fabrics a friend gave me. The flag is from a Little Quilts pattern. I modified it and put in the four star blocks.

IMG_1282 (2)

The pattern for this mini came from American Patchwork and Quilting. It was originally for wool, but that’s one thing I don’t do, so I just used cotton. It was a fun little project to make.

P1020936

This is a disappearing four patch that I made a few years ago.

And one more…

IMG_1202 (2)

This is a Double Irish Chain Quilt that I started when my husband was called to active duty during Desert Storm in 1992. I was hoping to finish it before he got home, but I got bogged down in the hand quilting. I really didn’t know what I was doing, so I stitched 1/4″ from each seam of the chain pieces. You can’t see it in this picture, but there is a feather in the centers. The last two rows are not finished. Maybe since I have it out, I’ll leave it out and work on it some, maybe! I’ve also had a couple of people tell me to finish it up on my machine. That I could do.

This summer, I am going to make…

IMG_1285 (3)

… the Frivols No. 2, Faithful using  Polka-Dots and Paisley by Minick and Simpson. I will probably work on it in June or July.

I hope you enjoyed this little tour of my patriotic and summer quilts. Maybe you will be inspired to make something for the 4th of July. Thanks for stopping by.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Memorial Day

  1. Lydia S says:

    These are all lovely, and you are right-very appropriate for the holiday.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Maggie’s First Dance BOM Block 2 and Blog Hop | The Quilting Nook

Leave a Reply

