Third Finish-A-Long for the 2nd Quarter

I hope everyone is having a nice weekend. I’ve had fun doing some free motion quilting and planning, but first, I have my third finish for the

2014a-20162bbutton2b2502bbest2b150

It’s April’s stitchery from “a year in the garden” by Jenny of Elefantz. You can find my 2nd quarter list of finishes here.

I know I’m a month behind and I haven’t started May’s yet, but I hope I can get caught up in June.  Jenny has such beautiful designs. This month’s stitcheries from her club are Day’s of the Week. Can’t wait to get started on them.

IMG_1190

When I quilted the background this time, I used Aurifil 50 Mako Cotton 2800, a very light blue. It gives the quilting just a little more depth.

IMG_1188 (2)

Here it is on the background quilt. I like the blue border. My purse is made out of these two fabrics. They are from Bonnie and Camille’s Day Sail.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve been planning and quilting some of my finished tops. I almost have the Mini Popsicles by Fig Tree & Co finished.

IMG_1220

I quilted a fun little swirl in the background, but used my Westalee ruler foot to quilt the popsicles. It helps to keep the lines straight.

IMG_1221

 

I’m also using it in the border. I wanted to quilt on the lines in the fabric, but there wasn’t a mark on the ruler that matched the width so I used painter’s tape to make the mark.  It’s working out nicely. This will be finished for the Minis and More Parade hosted by Michele and Sherri at the beginning of June.

 

I also dug into my box of Bonnie and Camille fabrics for May’s Blocks on the Go for Quilts that Grow.

I laid out all 17 blocks so I don’t repeat fabric combinations. I have the first two for May cut and ready to sew. I see a lot of handwork in the near future.

Now I need to get a little gardening done. I usually have my porch containers planted by now, but have been too busy to get to the plant store. Thanks for stopping by.

 

This entry was posted in 2016 Finish Along, A Year in the Garden Embroidery, Blocks on the Go, for Quilts that Grow, embroidery, FMQ, Free Motion Ruler Work, Minis and More, Stitchery, The New Hexagon, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Third Finish-A-Long for the 2nd Quarter

  1. Lydia S says:

    I need one of those rulers-in fact I need all the help I can get!

    Like

  2. Gorgeous quilting, and gorgeous quilt! Thanks for participating in the 2016 FAL on behalf of the global hosts 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

