March and April’s Minis and More

Hello everyone. Today is Minis and More day hosted by Sherri and Michele. This is my version of Village by Carrie Nelson of Miss Rosie’s Quilt Co called City to Country. Because the project was larger than a mini, we had two months to complete it.

IMG_0970 (2)

I finished the top and started quilting it at the Spring Retreat at Cottontail Quilts, but was not sure how I wanted to quilt the open spaces. I’m going to stare at it a while until I know what I want to do with it.

I didn’t want to do the whole quilt. I knew I wouldn’t have time and I don’t do a lot of larger quilts. So I sat down and planned what I wanted to do.

IMG_0824 (2)

Then I gathered leftover charm squares and squares that had been collected at shop hops.

IMG_0827

Next to cut:

IMG_0829

then to sew.

IMG_0943

I only made 22 houses. It would have taken me a while to make them for the full size quilt because of picking fabrics. I’m trying to overcome being matchy and trying to be more scrappy, but it’s a work in progress.

Finally the layout:

IMG_0949

I had all the sashing and open spaces cut before the retreat and I finished all the sewing there. Be sure to check out the rest of the Minis and More parade with Sherri and Michele.

Hope you enjoyed the process. Also, I have extended the giveaway for Maggie’s First Dance blog hop through May 4th. Be sure to leave a comment and sign up here if you haven’t already.

Giveaway for April-Maggies First Dance Free BOM

Thanks for stopping by and have a great week.

This entry was posted in Minis and More, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to March and April’s Minis and More

  1. Michele says:

    What a beautiful Village Brenda! I had difficulty getting over being matchy too. It’s hard after you’ve been trying to be matchy for so long to switch, but you did a wonderful job of it.

    Like

  2. Lydia S says:

    I will live vicariously through your blog until I’m up and running again. Hopefully there will be space where I can leave my machine up and it not be in the way. Well done on this one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

