Maggie’s First Dance Blog Hop

MaggiesFirstDanceBOMButton-Square

Welcome to Maggie’s First Dance blog hop and giveaway. My name is Brenda and I am delighted to be a featured blogger for Jacquelynne. I will be making the embroidered version of Maggie’s First Dance. Remember to sign up here, if you haven’t already.

Jacquelynne’s Cozy Afternoon was the first on-line BOM that I have participated in and I loved seeing what the featured bloggers were doing.

Cozy Afternoon BOM Complete - BH

This is my version of Cozy Afternoon and I won Jacquelynne’s on-line contest for  the setting. My prize is the fabric kit for this year’s BOM and I plan on making the applique version of Maggie along with everyone starting in June.

Just a little about myself; I live northwest of Atlanta, GA, am married and have two kids. My son will be graduating from college in two weeks and my daughter is finishing her freshman year of college. We like to travel, camp (in a pop-up camper), and hike. I also like to swim, knit and garden. I have been sewing since 5th grade and made most of my clothes in my early working years. I made my first quilt about 30 years ago, and have been quilting every since. You can find out more about me here.

I’m an eclectic quilter. I like to applique, embroider, and have just started some English Paper Piecing. I also like to free motion quilt on my domestic machine and make mini quilts. And, I throw some knitting in occasionally.

Here is a sneak peak of what I’m using for Maggie’s First Dance:

The fabrics are Bright Sun by Sherri and Chelsi of A Quilting Life and I am using DMC floss for the embroidery. Here are a few of my more recent embroidery projects and how I like to incorporate them into my quilting/sewing:

I hope you enjoyed a little about me, now onto the bloghop and giveaway details.

Giveaway for April-Maggies First Dance Free BOM

To win Jacquelynne’s beautiful patterns:

  • Tell me in the comments, “What is your favorite quilting technique (piecing, paper piecing, applique, embroidery, FMQ, etc)?”
  • You must comment by Tuesday, May 3 by 11:59 PM.
  • Your email MUST be included in your profile information or in your comment. If your name is chosen, but I cannot contact you, I will choose another name.
  • The giveaway is open to US and international readers.
  • The winner will be chosen at random.

Please be sure to visit all the featured bloggers:

http://greydogwoodstudio.com

https://farmhousequiltsblog.wordpress.com

http://thecraftyquilter.com

http://www.evapaigequiltdesigns.blogspot.com

http://gogokim.blogspot.com

http://lilypadquilting.blogspot.com

https://thequiltingnook.wordpress.com  (That’s me)

I hope you take a few minutes to look around my site to see what else I’ve been doing. Be sure to leave a comment for your chance to win. Also, visit Jacquelynne’s site for more about the bloghop and don’t forget to sign up.

 

 

This entry was posted in embroidery, FMQ, Maggie's First Dance, Stitchery, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

111 Responses to Maggie’s First Dance Blog Hop

  1. M J Clark says:

    My favorite technique is piecing. I like to adjust patterns to fit the fabric I have. We make baby quilts for mission hospitals from donated scraps from other quilters, so sometimes I just make the blocks with what I have.

    Like

  2. 2nana50 says:

    I’m going to try… It’s been hectic this week… But I love Paper piecing and general piecing… I do the old fashioned paper piecing, the fold and iron kind! 💜

    Like

  3. Pingback: A Busy Week | The Quilting Nook

  4. Marsha Bradford says:

    I love it all! My most recent discovery is Paper Piecing. I had to train my brain to think about piecing a little differently, but I think I have the hang of it now. Applique is my biggest love. I feel I can be a little more creative using applique.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Meet Our Bloggers & Enter the Giveaway!! - Jacquelynne Steves

Leave a Reply

