Spring Quilting Retreat

Hello everyone, I hope you had a good weekend. I had a great and productive four days last week, Wednesday through Saturday, at the Spring Retreat at Cottontail Quilts in Kennesaw, GA. This is one my favorite LQS’s. This post is a little long, but I wanted to show you what we did at the retreat.

IMG_0973 (2)

As you can see, Saturday was a beautiful day. Robin (the owner), Katy and Lisa took great care of us. The shop provided lunch for us on the porch everyday except Friday when we went to lunch with our new best friends. Most of us are local so we left our things at the shop and went home at night. There are always a few out-of-towners, though. We had ladies from Columbus, GA, Fayetteville, GA and Cullowhee, NC.

Since it’s a small group (twelve) we had a chance to talk to and get to know everyone. In fact, the group was so cohesive, that we collected emails and numbers to try to get together again before the next retreat in the fall. Robin graciously offered the shop sewing room as long as there was nothing else scheduled.

There were many projects completed and new ones started. Each day, the shop hostess (Katy or Lisa) offers you the opportunity to make one of their projects.

IMG_0991 (2)

The two shop projects I did are the paisly gift bag and the fabric cube. They were easy and fun to make. The other project I have the pattern for, but didn’t make is a Gadget Cushion by Quilt Smart (think Mondo Bag).

IMG_0987 (3)

The phone is resting on it here. It’s made with a 10″ square and the Quilt Smart interfacing pattern. This one is filled with walnut shells. You can stick pins in it, but  it’s also a great place for your phone or tablet. I like to listen to books while I sew, so I’m always moving my phone out of the way. I see one for me and a few for gifts in the future.

IMG_0991 (3)

The little case in front is a Tea Wallet by Hand Made Therapy.  We all liked Theresa’s, one of the retreat goers, so she agreed to teach us how to make one. Besides tea, it could also be used for reward cards. Another fast and easy gift idea. The zippered pouch is the large Cotton Way’s Pretty Little Pouches. I just need to sew the binding down.

IMG_0995 (3)

I finished the Mini Swoon top by Thimbleblossoms. I had everything cut before I went so I could just sew. The fabric is Bright Sun by Sherri and Chelsi for Moda. I really do love this line. This is what I’m using for Maggie’s First Dance Free BOM by Jaquelynne Steves.

I also finished the top of my Minis and More for March and April.

IMG_0970 (2)

It’s my version of Village by Carrie Nelson of Miss Rosie’s Quilt Co. I’m calling it City to Country. I started quilting it at the retreat, but just didn’t know how I wanted to quilt the open spaces. Instead of rushing, I decided to wait and let it talk to me. I have several ideas, but I need to play with them a little. The Minis and More Parade will be on May 2 at A Quilting Life and Island Life Quilts.

Giveaway for April-Maggies First Dance Free BOM

 

Make sure you stop back by this Thursday, April 28. Jacquelynne is hosting a blog hop to introduce the featured bloggers for Maggie’s First Dance Free BOM. I’ll be doing a giveaway for two of Jacquelynne’s patterns. You can sign up here.

I’m going to be busy for the next couple of weeks. We’re going to Pensacola to help my daughter bring back her things and turning it into a few days at the beach. Then in two weeks, my son is graduating from Kennesaw State University. We’re all excited about that.

Thanks for stopping by and letting me share my fun retreat with you.

 

This entry was posted in Maggie's First Dance, Minis and More, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spring Quilting Retreat

  1. Lydia S says:

    Goodness you were productive! Maybe I can do the fall retreat- “maybe”!

    Like

  2. Pingback: March and April’s Minis and More | The Quilting Nook

  3. Pingback: Pretty Pouches Finish | The Quilting Nook

Leave a Reply

