Something New and 2016 First Quarter FAL Update

I hope everyone had a good weekend. Let’s get started with a few inspirational pictures. It’s nice to have a daughter who is such a good photographer.

Emily and a friend got up at 5:00 AM to catch the sunrise over Pensacola Bay on Saturday morning. Beautiful!

IMG_0848 (3)

I don’t have the the camera or the eye that she does, but it was a beautiful cold morning here today and I caught the morning sun shining on my Spanish Bluebells. Now, onto quilting things.

 

 

 

 

 

I’m going to link all my 2016 1st quarter Finish-a-Longs at Clover and Violet. Take a few minutes to see how much was accomplished by the quilting community from January to March. You can check out my finishes from the 2016 Finish ALong menu tab. These were not the only things that I finished, but were the ones I had on my list. Unfortuately, there were several things that didn’t get finished. The biggest was my Stars Around the Garden hand quilting. I’m close though. It’s going on the list for the 2nd quarter to make sure I keep working on it.

I finished the five Blocks on the Go for Hexegons that Grow for March.

I love picking the Bonnie and Camille fabrics for this project. I met with my quilty friends on Saturday and have already pieced the first block for April.

IMG_0864 (2)

I started March and April’s Minis and More which was a “More” for the two months.

IMG_0824 (2)

The project is Village by Carrie Nelson of Miss Rosie’s Quilt Co.  I am not going to make the big quilt, but planned a smaller version with 22 house blocks.

I went through my charm squares and used some that I had picked up at Shop Hops that I thought I would never use.

IMG_0867 (2)

At Sip-in-Sew at my LQS,  I was able to get the house and half the roof done. Hope to get back to these later this week. I also started free motion quilting the T-shirt quilt this afternoon. I will have a couple of pictures next time.

I hope you’ve had a great weekend. Don’t forget to sign up for Maggie’s First Dance FREE Block of the Month which starts in June. Thanks for stopping by.

 

This entry was posted in 2016 Finish Along, Blocks on the Go, for Quilts that Grow, Minis and More, The New Hexagon and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Something New and 2016 First Quarter FAL Update

  1. Lydia S says:

    Holy cow you are a quilting machine! Love the march blocks. Need to check out some of the other sites you’ve recommended. Also, love the photos Emily took.

    Like

Leave a Reply

